Phonetics Weekly
2 min readApr 2, 2015

Why Phonetics Weekly?

In today’s information world, it is easy to get overwhelmed. Staying informed about latest global news in your field of interest is getting more and more time consuming. This is why the format of a weekly newsletter is very popular today: in IT, in science and other areas.

When I wanted to find some phonetics-related news or some regular updates from any phonetic subfield, I found out there was no such service back then. I started searching for trending news in the phonetic world: events, pop science, research, media, fun stuff, social networks, technology. That is how Phonetics Weekly was born.

What is the Phonetics Weekly newsletter?

The Phonetics Weekly Digest is a compilation of the best of what I have found that particular week, whether it be articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, websites, maps… Anything related to phonetics in its broad sense, provided it is open access (except new books) and up-to-date. It also needs to pass my subjective standard filter. The quality of the content is thus always dependent on what is currently available on the web. The main channels for searching the news are Twitter, Academia.edu, RSS feeds of linguistic blogs and other servers, Google News, journal alerts, and more.

Having said that, there is no way one person can catch everything that is circulating on the web. I encourage everyone to get in touch and send in suggestions!

Who are the subscribers?

People who read the Phonetics Weekly Digest are undergrad, grad and postgrad students, university professors and lecturers — most often doing linguistics, phonetics or speech and language pathology. There are also many people outside academia: career linguists, speech therapists, teachers and others. They are from all around the world, right now (4/2017) I send the newsletter to 36 countries.

Who does that?

My name is Anna Benc. I am a happy wife of a wonderful husband and a proud mum of three amazing kids. I hold a MA degree in Phonetics and Swedish. In my free time I write a weekly newsletter of latest web news in phonetics.

You can get in touch with me at hello (at) phoneticsweekly dot com.

Sign up free to the Phonetics Weekly Digest at www.phoneticsweekly.com!