I’m Learning: Make a Fighting Game

Persia Dixon
2 min readAug 3, 2017

--

The current state of the interface (https://i.gyazo.com/b77f204fe58bddcead08edf97a392bd2.mp4)

When I was younger I was always highly interested in video games, and computers in general. It was natural for me. I’ve never been the social type so if there were video games around I’d try to find out how to get in on that.

When I was around 14 years old I gained an interest in game development. Having never done any programming of any kind, though, I needed something simple to get started. The program that I discovered is called Game Maker. Back in the day there was a free version so I didn’t have to buy it (good thing because we didn’t have money like that). I didn’t make much with it but I did learn that I really liked programming.

Now I’m attempting to get back to what I loved so long ago. But it’ll be just a little different this time. This time I’ll be using my current skills as a web developer, which means I’ll be using JavaScript and HTML5. I could go back to using Game Maker but I’m more comfortable with JavaScript at this point in time. Plus it would be easier to share the game in this fashion. All I’d have to do is share a link.

I’ve only started it recently so as of right now I’m still in the prototyping phase. I’ll try to keep documenting my progress on here as well as on YouTube.

So here’s video of where I am in prototyping right now. Thanks for reading and watching!

--

--

Persia Dixon

28. Job searching | #Programmer | #NERFStack | #WebDeveloper | #JavaScript | #CodeNewbie | contact@piecedigital.net