On…My Twitter Timeline Light-bulb Moment

Reply to yourself on Twitter and effectively link two tweets or thoughts together as one :-)

Luke | @PluckyLuke
2 min readJul 15, 2015

One of the many (better) changes Twitter has made to its timeline is the additions of mentions to a particular tweet, be it yours or someone you follow, displaying directly in your timeline.

Here’s an example:

In this case, my original the conversation took place over a few tweets back and forth and you’d have to select the tweet to view the whole conversation. Point being, you can see reply mentions in my timeline.

So, I had an idea what if you reply to one of your own tweets - would the same reply show up underneath the original tweet?

So I replied to a tweet and deleted my own twitter handle

And it worked. Here’s my original tweet and a second thought attached to the first.

Of course this will only work if you or your followers are using Twitter’s native app, but considering most people do, this is a cool little hack which allows you to effectively link two tweets together and workaround the 140 character limit.

--

--