Elizabeth Weil does it all

A series of interesting conversations with interesting people.

Pocket
7 min readMar 8, 2017

Elizabeth Weil is a mother of 3 under 3, an ultra marathoner, a printing press wizard, and oh, a managing partner at 137 Ventures. We caught up with her to chat about the world of venture capital, what she’s reading and finding interesting lately, and how she manages to fit more into a day then most people fit into a week.

You joined 137 Ventures as a Managing Partner almost a year ago. Previously you were a partner Andreessen Horowitz. What attracted you to this new role and how has it been going so far?

It was a tough decision to leave a16z, but I was interested to get back on the investing side of venture capital. At Andreessen Horowitz I focused on business development at the intersection of the Fortune 500/Global 2000 executives and our portfolio companies. At 137 Ventures, I joined as the 5th managing director. I’d known Justin, the founder of the firm, from the Mayfield Fellows program within the engineering school at Stanford. I was attracted to the niche that they carved out in the market (secondaries), the small, agile team they’d built, and the fact that the firm had successfully raised their third fund with great, loyal LPs (Limited Partners). I also loved the market drivers like the fact that companies are staying private longer, and we all need liquidity for some of those large life events we all face. At 137, we traditionally focus on later stage investments where we provide founders and early employees liquidity through structured transactions.

In addition to being managing partner at 137 Ventures you are also an ultramarathon runner (with 40+ marathons under your belt), run your own letterpress company, (we’ll get to that in a sec) and mom of three. How do you fit it all in? What does a typical day-in-the-life look like for you?

Yeah that does sound pretty nuts. But it is all true. :) I just gave birth to boy/girl twins, and have a 2.5 year old energy-filled boy (@thirdweil). Honestly, my running time is my sanity. I am primarily a trail runner, and my husband and I live in Portola Valley where I have more than 30 miles of trails right out my front door. I start every single day with a mind-clearing morning run, and often with a friend. As for Paperwheel, the letterpress and design studio I started a decade ago, it is also an outlet for my sanity. I grew up wood-working, and I crave some of that hands-on creative time. I joke that I needed to turn a hobby into a business so I would actually make time for it! It is hard to say no to paying customers who have custom letterpress and design needs! I have three letterpresses and built out the studio from my home — -that helps keeping things efficient. Often I’m packaging etsy orders or designing wedding invitations in my running clothes while cooling down from my run.

Read more about trail running on Pocket »

As you mentioned, you started Paperwheel a decade ago. How did this idea first come about, and how did you get it off the ground?

My love of letterpress all started when someone gave me their business card. I remember which cafe I was at having lunch. I tucked it away, but just ogled that form of printing. I’d never seen (or realized) that type of delicate, indented printing. I started reading everything I could around the web about letterpress. It almost felt like a scavenger hunt. I connected with some printers, and then learned about the San Francisco Center for the Book. I took one course there and just loved the history, art and industrial-blend of letterpress printing. New presses aren’t being made anymore, so I was fortunate enough to meet an 83 year old man who was selling his press. It was run-down and I took one look at it and said no-thanks. My husband, Kevin, was with me and he said: “Write that man a check. I’m loading it into the car. You are going to regret it if you don’t.” He was right. But once I had this press I had spent a few thousand dollars on, I felt like I needed to do something great with it. Slowly and entirely through word of mouth, people started ordering custom letterpress stationery from me. I had ZERO idea how to design — -especially in Adobe Illustrator. I taught myself that, and started calling the operation Paperwheel. When I received my first check, it was made out to Paperwheel. That was the moment I realized I needed to open a bank account and turn this little side-gig into a business. Also, for me, I say that I needed to turn my love of letterpress into a small business, with deadlines and paying clients, in order to carve out time for a hobby. As a mom of three small kiddos, a husband, home, and full-time job, and a daily trail run, I don’t have much hobby time. Paying customers, on the other hand, force letterpress time in an awesome way.

Explore the art of letterpress on Pocket »

You’re a board member of the Ad Council, the largest producer of National Public Service Advertisements in the United States and on the governing council of the Northern Sierra Partnership, an initiative to conserve and restore the natural landscape of the northern Sierra Nevada. What has inspired your work with them?

About 5 or 6 years ago, a friend sat me down and asked how giving fit into my life, and if so, what did I care about. It was a great exercise — even for a young person that doesn’t have much wealth yet. For me, I would spend 90% of my time outdoors if I could. I grew up hiking, camping, trail running, especially throughout the Sierras, and I really loving being outside. I want my children and their children to be able to experience being outside in a setting that is preserved. In partnership with The Nature Conservancy, the Northern Sierra Partnership is an incredible organization focused on that mission.

As for the Ad Council, I feel privileged to be a board member of such a long-standing organization. Many people don’t know, but the Ad Council was responsible for the original Smokey the Bear campaign more than 70 years ago. This team is made up of executives, advertising agencies, and businesses with the goal of public service through mission-driven ad campaigns. I am lucky to be able my perspective of Silicon Valley and technology to this organization.

What have you been finding interesting lately / what have you been saving and recommending about recently?

The best thing about Pocket, is that it is my collection of nearly everything I find randomly interesting! It is like my Pinterest board of content. My FAVORITE thing about Pocket is the little-known hidden feature I call “Read it to me.” I LOVE THAT. I love getting caught up on articles, especially many of the longer ones, by being read to. I can tackle so many of the cool articles that I have collected from around the web while being out on a trail run or while driving to our cabin at Donner Lake.

I love articles about behavioral economics, design, productivity and efficiency hacks, Silicon Valley history, startups, management, and company deep dives, and articles that bring unique perspectives to things I don’t know lots about. I also love stories about random facts and word and phrase derivation, like “How Dom Perignon got its name,” “Inside the French Laundry’s Kitchen,” “A genetic fix to put the taste back in tomatoes,” or the history behind the phrase “dead ringer.

What are your go-to places — sites, apps, people, etc — for finding new stories to read and watch in Pocket?

That is the other best thing about Pocket! I have a “Pocket button” everywhere — — on my browser toolbar, my iPhone, within Twitter, and within email. Facebook needs to make it a bit easier, but my hack for that is: press and copy a link, then open Pocket, and it asks you if you’d like to save the link that was just copied. I often can go through days of collecting articles with the peace of mind that when I have a window of time, I can jump into one place and find this rich, reading-ready goodness for me! :) I find great articles from diverse people on Twitter, on email newsletters about topics I care about, and highlights that people share on Facebook. I subscribe to an “inbox zero” mentality (usually keep it around 15 that need to be responded to) so Pocket helps me fast-archive email digests on a variety of topics after I save the links that really pop out at me.

If you had the chance to escape and read all of your current Pocket saves where would you go to do it?

I would like to say a beach on a secluded island in the Pacific, but I’m too much of a multi-tasker mom-of-three for that. I love that Pocket helps me be efficient. I can get caught up on great content while passing the time while commuting, waiting in line, driving, running, or when I find myself in a place without an internet connection.

Who would you want to see us interview next?

Tough question. A winemaker who uses Pocket! Or someone who owns or works at a hotel. I would love to learn about the behind-the-scenes in the hospitality industry.

You can check out Paperwheel products here and follow what Elizabeth is reading and finding interesting on Pocket here.

--

--

Pocket

Capture content that fascinates you from across the web, then read, watch, or listen to it in Pocket. Get the Pocket app and fuel your mind. getpocket.com