My Soup-a-Day Habit-Building Challenge|Part 1

Polly Howden
3 min readJan 22, 2019

--

As a new years resolution and experiment I decided eat soup each day in January. I was partly inspired by a Ted Talk by Matt Cutts about habit-building Try Something New For 30 Days. I also wanted to cook more for my family as pre-Christmas we had ended up eating a lot of beige food due to my feeling uninspired, tired / busy and little one seeming to want to exist on a diet solely of potato.

Why soup?

  • Light, nutritious food for my husband who wants to eat well
  • Different flavours for my little one to try
  • Easy and quick

Some things I thought might result:

  • Learn from process of doing one thing repeatedly
  • Easy inspiration around a single theme (reduce decision-making)
  • Learn new cooking techniques
  • Feel healthier

It’s twenty-one days through the month. Here’s what happened so far:

I made a soup every-other day (ish)

So, firstly how’s the habit-building going? It turns out I’ve made soup 40% of the time. I’m generously calling this every-other day (ish). Here’s the list of 8 soups I made up to the 21st January.

Quick Kale Soup

My Mum’s Tomato & Carrot Soup

Japanese Inspired Noodle Soup

Butternut Squash Soup

Parsnip & Cheddar Cheese Soup

Brussels Sprout & Cauliflower Soup

Anything-You-Have Coconut Curry Soup

My Mum’s Tomato & Carrot Soup + Broccoli

Turns out that cooking from scratch every day isn’t a habit I’ve mastered yet. Mid January there was a hiatus of a few days where I didn’t feel motivated. I could have predicted this and in fact my husband did warn me “you like to make things hard for yourself!” and bought a bunch of supermarket soups for off days. Good back-up!

What got me out of the slump was having the opportunity to browse in a Japanese food shop while my toddler was napping. We have a family trip to Hong Kong and then the Japanese Island of Ishigaki coming up so I found myself hankering after a noodle soup.

I plan to redeem myself. I’ve calculated that if I eat a soup a day, every day until the end of the month than I will reach 60% of my goal which feels a decent achievement.

Discovery — a no-peel Butternut Squash hack

I’m out of time to write, but can’t resist sharing that one of my favourite revelations is that you don’t have to peel a Butternut Squash to use it. Just bake the whole thing in the oven. No fuss, no mess (unless like me, you don’t put it on a baking tray and your oven is anointed with squash — whoops!).

Honestly I’m slightly ashamed to say that my mind was blown by this hack.

I’ll post what I learned by cooking a soup-a-day and if I made it to 60% in at the end of the month. Wish me luck!

--

--

Polly Howden

London-based product leader, I love making, reading & family. Always learning and growing. Jotting my experiences and insights. Your thoughts welcomed.