Heartbreak of the Babushka

The Ponderosa Pine
8 min readMay 14, 2022
Image sourced from Flickr under creative commons

Ukraine’s elderly began their lives in war. Many of them may also be ending their lives in war. The world needs to know their heartbreaking stories.

It’s 2003 and my Ukrainian friend and I are somewhere near Kyiv’s city center. Amidst the low key chatter of conversation and the chirping of birds we hear the sound of some cans rattling. A babushka is pushing a hand cart stacked with blankets, trinkets, and a bunch of empty cans and bottles, which she has collected to recycle for spare change.

Babushka is not a term of derision. It’s a common word to describe an elderly Russian or Ukrainian woman. They have a certain look — often short in height and hunched a bit, but sturdily built, they wear the “babushka” headscarf over their heads and tied under their chins. The deep lines in their faces and stern but determined expressions betray a life of hardship.

Without a word my friend walks over to the old woman. I do not follow but observe from a distance. They chat quietly for a brief minute, and then my friend gives her a little bit of money. The babushka doesn’t smile or seem to say anything, but looks my friend in the eye and gives her a hearty nod of appreciation. Somehow the jesture seems more meaningful than a smile or any words of thanks. There’s a…

--

--

The Ponderosa Pine

It's hard not to spread yourself a little thin when you're a hopeless curiosity hound. So, call me a generalist. I write about what interests me.