Samuel Obi
2 min readMay 23, 2024

If I gave you access to my Spotify account and you looked through my playlists, you might think I'm living a sad and heartbroken life. Most of my songs are sad, heart-wrenching ballads, and love songs that speak of pain and longing. The lyrics are filled with sorrow, heartbreak, and unrequited love. The melodies are often slow and melancholic, setting a somber mood.

You'd see tracks about lost love, betrayal, and the deep ache of missing someone who was once important. These songs might paint a picture of someone who's been through a lot of emotional pain and is perhaps still struggling with those feelings. It could seem like my life is filled with sadness and that I'm constantly dealing with heartbreak.

However, while the music I listen to might give that impression, it's not necessarily the full story. Sometimes, people listen to sad songs because they find them relatable or because they find a strange comfort in them. Other times, it's simply because those songs are beautifully composed and can evoke strong emotions, even if one's life isn't as tragic as the music suggests.

Music has a unique way of connecting with our emotions and sometimes, we gravitate towards certain types of music because they help us process our feelings, provide an emotional release, or just resonate with a part of us that needs to be heard. So, while my Spotify playlists might make it seem like I'm living a sad life, it could just be that I appreciate the depth and emotion of those songs. They reflect a part of me, but they don't define my entire life.

Samuel Obi

I really don't know what's going on in my life, but I'm in charge of the outfits.