About Dr. Barbara Edwards of Princeton, NJ

Barbara R. Edwards
2 min readFeb 19, 2019

--

Dr. Barbara R. Edwards, M.D., M.P.H.

My name is Barbara Edwards, and I am an Internist in Princeton as an attending physician at Penn Medicine Princeton Medical Center. My career in medicine began in 1988 when I earned my medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. After that, I completed my internship and residency in Internal medicine at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center in New York City. Following that, I began my fellowship in general internal medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston. In 1993, I went on to receive my Master of Public Health from Harvard University. Over the years, I’ve added a few letters to my name to be Dr. Barbara R. Edwards, M.D., M.P.H.

Practicing internal medicine allows me not only to care for patients, but to also be an educator for future physicians. Through Penn Medicine Princeton Medical Center, patients receive excellent care and interns begin their careers practicing medicine.

Dr. Barbara Edwards — The Beauty of Giving Back

One of the things I’m most proud of in my career is my involvement with the Bristol-Myers Squibb Community Health Center, which is part of Penn Medicine Princeton Medical Center. As medical director, I’ve been able to have a hand in ensuring residents of Mercer and Middlesex counties receive quality care, no matter their insurance status. The Community Health Center sees over 30,000 patients each year for both preventative care and sick visits.

Dr. Barbara Edwards treating patients on a mission trip

Along with my dedication to helping patients, I am passionate about the importance of giving back through my volunteer work with various organizations. In May 2017, I was fortunate enough to participate in a medical mission trip through Villages in Partnership and my church to Malawi. In this small African village, the team created 4 clinics and met with over 5,000 patients. We met patients to treat ailments that the local hospital was not equipped for. It was an experience I will never forget.

Dr. Barbara Edwards in Malawi, Africa

On this page, I aim to share well researched health information and spread awareness of the importance of giving back. Happy reading!

Dr. Barbara Edwards is an internist in Princeton, New Jersey. Dr. Edwards covers topics surrounding the benefits of different volunteer opportunities and the latest going on in the health industry, including healthy recipes.

--

--

Barbara R. Edwards

Barbara R. Edwards M.D., M.P.H. is a doctor in Princeton, NJ. Sharing the beauty of giving back and living a healthy lifestyle.