1-on-1 with Jean-Richard Witteveen from Eccentrade: the Soft Rebel

Professional Rebel
Arming the Rebels in Business
5 min readDec 14, 2015
Photography by Simone Schoutens.

We believe that innovative entrepreneurs are the pioneers of the changing world. That’s why every week we go in-depth with one of our favorites and pick up lessons on what it takes to be a professional rebel. Up this week is Jean-Richard Witteveen.

Jran-richard, 44, is an international businessman with a softer side. Born in Brazil to a Dutch father and Greek mother he is also an avid technology lover. This led him to a first job at Apple and three years ago he started Eccentrade, which helps businesses access key information to pick trustworthy and sustainable partners. Chief Reporter Roald Tjon caught up with him to talk about team-building, Tom Jones and treating yourself.

How did you start Eccentrade?

“I was always a little geek when I was a kid. When I was nine my dad got me the Apple II computer. I was really interested by programming and creating codes. I also have a fascination for old school cameras.” says Jean.

Soon after his studies Jean got accepted for an internship at Apple: “I worked at the launch of the iMac, Bondi Blue, and saw everything from marketing to retail. I also got to understand how they build a computer. We take an iPhone, or any product, as granted that a company can build it, but there is a huge process behind it. Companies have to carefully select suppliers and apply quality controls to build your iPhone.”

After three years at Apple and others roles in advertising and the technology lobby Jean had an “aha”-moment: “I thought there must be a way that we can build something so that we can help the industry source better, find better companies and check suppliers, using data. That was the birth of Eccentrade.”

Why did you decide to become an entrepreneur?

“It’s a little bit in my DNA. My father was an entrepreneur and worked as CFO of Pfizer and my grandfather was a big entrepreneur in the Netherlands.”

Jean explains that he loves creating and selling products: “When I see that people like what I’m doing and go, ‘Oh, this is so awesome, I’m going to buy it’ I think, ‘Wow, I’m creating something of value.”

What keeps you up at night?

“I will never be arrogant enough to say that I know everything and I don’t want to know everything. But I want to hire the people who can help me to know. That is what keeps me awake sometimes.”

Building the right team is important to Jean: “Once you have the team that can resonate the message and click. Then you can go on vacation, because things work like music.”

The Lesson: Once you have the right team, you know that you can let go and continue with your vision. Always start by building the right team.

Jean-Richard with his personal collection of camera’s. Photography by Simone Schoutens.

What did you learn from your former job?

“I feel like Apple was always a startup and this gave me enormous insight into how a company should be. As a startup you have to be completely groundbreaking and disruptive. If you’re not disruptive then you better go home.”

The Lesson: Be disruptive, or go home!

Would you consider yourself a professional rebel?

“Completely, because I like to disrupt. In every job I’ve had I disrupt what everyone’s doing. People say I’m like an elephant walking in a porcelain closet.”

Is there something people would be surprised to know about you?

“I like Tom Jones and I like to listen to Julio Iglesias. I tend to surprise people with the type of romantic songs I listen to.”

‘People often have this stigma and think entrepreneurs should be these cold-hearted business people. But I don’t believe that it works like that. I think that you should be about the business, and you should care about people. People are the most important part of your business.”

The Lesson: Business means caring about people.

Which people have influenced you most?

“One is my father: he’s an incredible business person and entrepreneur. The other one is every startup owner. When you see how these people really struggle and have sleepless nights. You only hear the beautiful news about millions coming into an account, but most of the time you don’t see what that means. How much pressure and hard work it is.”

What’s the last thing you bought under €50?

“The case for my new iPhone. It’s such an intricate thing that I want it to last a little bit.”

Any tips to other rebels out there?

“First of all keep your head up. There will be moments when you think I don’t know why I’m doing this and I don’t think I’m going to manage. So often for me in those moments an email came in or someone called and the deal was done. In Dutch there’s a saying that goes: the soup is never eaten as hot as it’s served. In other words problems are never so big that you cannot manage them.’

“Secondly, treat yourself well. Don’t work to the bone, don’t forget yourself and don’t forget to spend time with your family.”

The Lesson: Keep your head up and treat yourself once in a while.

Our rebel reporter Roald Tjon and Jean. Roald has a big interest in entrepreneurship and storytelling. He speaks to professional rebels and shares their stories.

--

--