1-on-1 with Mourad Saber from Gr8things: the Creative Rebel

Professional Rebel
Arming the Rebels in Business
5 min readFeb 8, 2016
Photo: Happy Mourad at his work. Photography by: Simone Schoutens

We believe that innovative professionals are the pioneers of the changing world. That’s why every week we go in-depth with one of our favorites and pick up some lessons about what it takes to be a professional rebel. This week we spoke to Mourad Saber, co-founder and creative director of Gr8things.

Mourad, 28, is a self-styled creative ninja, because you never see him coming. He’s had a career starting an art collective, working for an IT company and setting up his own creative bureau Gr8things with business partner Tijn, who he considers the ying to his yang. Chief Reporter Roald Tjon caught up with him to get his story and find out how being stubborn has led him to success.

How would you describe yourself?

“I’m a creative with a passion for technology that loves to tell stories, whether it’s my own or someone else’s. I’m also someone who’s learned to work within my talents and do the things I enjoy.’

Mourad also describes himself a perfectionist: “We live in a very fast society where things just get strung together quickly. Sometimes I see people’s work and think, ‘If only you worked on it a little longer, then it would be something really beautiful.’”

How did you start Gr8things?

Mourad was initially involved in setting up an art collective called De Grote 8. After getting commercial requests from companies like Mini and Bjorn Borg he set up Gr8things with current business partner Tijn Benedek.

“During my time at De Grote 8 I was also working for Triple-IT, a very technical company with over 100 staff of predominantly programmers, where I came up with concepts. I learned there that it isn’t about the idea, it’s the execution. After seeing how a large company like that works I thought it was time to start something myself and took Tijn along with me.’

“Now at Gr8things we work with around 15 freelancers at any given time on creative projects making beautiful things and we also have about one social project per year, like Qare, Tastees and Business4Bees.”

How is it working with a business partner?

“Really great, because he’s so different from me. I have a lot of weak points. I could force myself to get better at those or I can find someone who’s better at that and who enjoys doing it. That’s Tijn.’

Together they handle different parts of the projects for Gr8things: “He focuses more on the project management while I’m the initiator. When something comes up I try to make a story out of it. I try to visualize it and come up with names and make sure that whatever was floating in the air is hammered down. Then Tijn takes over and makes sure that it absolutely rocks and becomes a reality.”

The Lesson: Find people who compliment you.

Photo: When we asked Mourad what’s important to him, he said his businesspartner Tijn and digital gadgets. So we pictured both! Photography by: Simone Schoutens

You’re also an actor, what do you enjoy about that?

“Some people love to play football on Sunday. I love to tell stories, in any way that that I can. When you’re acting you’re telling the story of someone else and I think that’s awesome. Last year I was involved in a short film called A Short Tour & Farewell which played at Cannes, which I’m very proud of.”

Why did you decide to start your own company?

“That really happened by chance. I live in the moment and follow my instincts. I’ve learned that if my instincts tell me to go left, I do it without hesitating. Of course there are moments when you’re unsure if you made the right choice, when you think, ‘I’ve only earned €500 this month, what am I going to do next month?’. But ultimately, I’m really happy with what I decided.”

The Lesson: Trust your gut.

Would you consider yourself a professional rebel?

“To me a professional rebel is a professional in their field who’s doing something different from the rest. And then I’d say we’re definitely professional rebels, because we’re stubborn and do exactly what we want in our field and we’re pretty good at it.”

Which people have influenced you most?

“Of course there are some people that inspire you more than others because they happen to say something that really hits you in the moment. But I think you can learn from more than just one person, because there isn’t just one truth. You have to fill your bag with bits of truth from the people you meet along the way.”

The Lesson: Everyone can teach you something.

What’s the last thing you bought for over €100?

“A plane ticket to Madrid for a project of mine. I can’t say what it is yet, but we’re going to try change the world for the better again.”

Is there something people would be surprised to know about you?

“I can get very emotional and personally affected by things that are unjust even though I might walk around with a big smile. I don’t watch the news anymore, because I can’t handle a lot of it.’

“It’s not that I want to shut myself off, but I have to protect myself. Otherwise I’ll never get any sleep. That’s probably also why we help startups with little funds, because they can really touch you. When someone’s so passionate about something and really believes in it, who am I to say no?”

Any tips to other rebels out there?

“Go be nice and stubborn, to a certain degree. Even if people tell you it won’t work, it can’t succeed or you should do it differently. You have to be a little crazy now and again to make beautiful things.’

“And say those people are right, then you’ve learned something. If you had a bad day then at least at the end of it you have a good story. Of course you can learn from other people’s mistakes, but I think people have to discover the world on their own.”

The Lesson: Be stubborn!

Mourad and rebel reporter Roald Tjon. Roald has a big interest in innovative individuals and storytelling. He speaks to professional rebels and shares their stories through this blog.

Professional Rebel & Mourad: Mourad is the kind of guy that everyone at the office wants to work with and then chat to over drinks. His hilarious Tastees promo vid is a huge hit at Professional Rebel and we always look forward to seeing what other creative gems Gr8things will be hitting us with next — like Juice Pops, which came online today!

Get in touch with Mourad: website | facebook | linkedin

--

--