1-on-1 with Silke Tijkotte from FloraHolland: the Flower Rebel

Professional Rebel
Arming the Rebels in Business
5 min readJan 18, 2016
Photography by Simone Schoutens

We believe that innovative professionals are the pioneers of the changing world. That’s why every week we go in-depth with one of our favorites and pick up some lessons about what it takes to be a professional rebel. This week we spoke to our first intrapreneur — Silke Tijkotte, Strategic Commercial Consultant at FloraHolland.

Silke, 28, works for the largest marketplace for flowers and plants in the world. Her main focus is to create an urban green lifestyle and to innovate the flower and plant industry in the Netherlands. She spoke to Roald Tjon about working with others, supporting change and her love of flowers.

Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

“I have two sets of qualities that often collide: One the one hand I am goal-oriented and ruthless, but on the other hand I try be caring and considerate, because I really want the best for everyone.”

A lot of that has to do with Silke’s family: “My dad is a die-hard go-getting entrepreneur, while my mom is someone who always took care of everyone. She works in the healthcare sector with disabled people.”

What do you do at FloraHolland?

“I think my role could best be described as social innovation manager.”

FloraHolland is trying to create an urban green lifestyle and as part of that Silke is in charge of helping great ideas: “We are helping to facilitate people and startups while also communicating the importance of flowers and plants.”

‘Our sector is fairly anonymous. There are many opportunities and incredible amounts of knowledge, but it mainly stays in the industry. We want to change this by giving startups or change-makers an opportunity to grow and help decision-makers.”

What’s it like to drive change from inside a large company?

Stakeholder management and working with others are key according to Silke: “FloraHolland is a corporation of 4,500 growers. We also have 4,000 employees and 4,000 clients. So in others words, there are 12,000 different opinions. You can’t listen to them all, but you do have to know who decides on what, whose opinion you have to take into account and who your key stakeholders are.”

‘In the beginning I was pretty bad at that. Then you would have a group of people and I was running ahead of them. No, you have to run with the group.”

The Lesson: Intrapreneurs have to run with the group.

Are you personally very green?

“I’m actually not very sustainable. I have a car and I love to fly, but flowers have always been a big part of my life.”

‘I worked in a flower stall for five years from the age of 14 and my mom gives courses in flower arrangement. In my family, flowers were always associated with fun and comfort. They feel like home to me.”

Photography by Simone Schoutens

Would you consider yourself a professional rebel?

“When certain people see me coming they probably think, ‘Oh no, here she comes again. What has she thought up now?’ I think a rebel is someone who stands by what they say and isn’t afraid to rock the boat. That description definitely fits me, but being a professional sounds like you’re really good at something, so I’ll leave it to others to decide if I’m a ‘professional’ rebel or not.”

Which people have influenced you most?

“My parents first of all: my mom’s influence is on the social aspect while my dad taught me to focus and work really hard for the things you want.”

‘The second is Edwin Wenink, my mentor within the company and Manager Supply Chain at FloraHolland. We speak once a month about personal development and for me he’s the perfect example of how to do things in a team. He taught me how to be more at ease in a big organization which can be stressful from time to time.”

The Lesson: Finding a mentor whose advice you respect could be invaluable.

What’s the last thing you bought under €50?

“The red tulips for the photoshoot.”

And over €100?

“Tickets to Melt!, a techno festival in Germany. I’m going in the summer for a weekend with my two brothers, who are also my best friends.”

What keeps you up at night?

“When I hurt other people’s feelings without actually meaning to. I can be stupidly direct and goal-oriented, but my criticism is actually focused on the content and not on the person.”

Is there something people would be surprised to know about you?

“Sometimes I can imagine being a stay at home mom with five children. I do wonder if you can change the nature of the beast. I will always be energetic and a go-getter. Even if I have five children I’ll probably be on the parent’s council and be the chairperson of a sports club.”

Any tips to other rebels out there?

Silke has quite a few: “Stay focused, stay passionate, and don’t get angry. Examine your opportunities, work with others, not alone, and seek out a mentor. Know your key stakeholders and take them along with you in the right way, be open and curious, and lastly, believe in yourself.”

The Lesson: Plenty of lessons, but to repeat just one — trust in yourself.

Silke and our rebel reporter Roald Tjon. Roald has a big interest in innovative individuals and storytelling. He speaks to professional rebels and shares their stories.

--

--