1-on-1 with nugget’s Ovi Negrean: the Book Rebel

Professional Rebel
Arming the Rebels in Business
5 min readDec 4, 2015
Ovi Negrean — founder of the tinder for books. Photography by: Simone Schoutens

We believe that innovative entrepreneurs are the pioneers of the changing world. That’s why every week we go in-depth with one of our favorites and pick up some lessons about what it takes to be a professional rebel. This week is our kick-off with Ovi Negrean from nugget.

The nugget app has been described as tinder for books. You can swipe through nugget-sized quotes from your favorite novel or explore new literary gems. Thirty-year old Ovi Negrean from Romania is the CEO and co-founder of nugget and spoke with our Chief Reporter Roald Tjon.

How did you start nugget?

“I like to read business books and I always make highlights in them because I have a pretty bad memory. I also saw the growing trend of quotes on Facebook and on Instagram. People really like short tweets and images, this gives value in a very succinct form.”

Ovi spotted an opportunity and set about finding a way to test his assumptions: “We started by making a powerpoint on Slideshare. I read Zero to One and took out 100 of my best highlights. We also had a landing page with an email subscription. We chose this method because nugget’s main feature is the nugget itself. The book was also very popular so we figured we’d have a lot of interest around it.”

Their minimum viable product (MVP) was for 1,000 people to view the slideshare and at least 10 to subscribe to the email: “We got lucky because Slideshare featured us and we got 5,000 views in one or two days and 50 emails.”

The Lesson: Start with a problem or gap, build your MVP and test your assumptions.

nugget app on Ovi’s phone. Photography by: Simone Schoutens

You said before that you’re giving yourself one year with nugget? Why is that?

“I’ve committed at least one year so that I can really try to work on it. Most of the time the end result won’t be the same as your initial vision. You have to pivot and you have to see what’s working and what’s not. But you need to be able to be committed to that. If you’re going to just stop at the first sight of problems, then you’re never going to get somewhere.”

The Lesson: If you start a new project, make sure to seriously commit yourself to it.

What did you learn from your former job?

Ovi started Amplexor Romania, a branch of the tech company Amplexor Belgium. There he learned about the business side of the company, something he still uses at nugget today: “I had to set up the office, find employees, make sure all the contracts were in place and make sure the team was performing well.”

What’s the one thing you know now that you wish you knew six months ago?

“One thing which we tried which did not work at all was to use an external PR agency. Being an entrepreneur you have to tell your own story and try to get the word out yourself.”

Ovi explains that making personal contact with people is especially important: “I would still use an agency or internal person to help me find contacts and prepare personal emails, but I would be the one sending out those emails.”

The lesson: Tell your own story and reach out to people personally.

Which people have influenced you most?

“I listen to a lot of podcasts and one I really admire is from James Altucher. He is basically an author, investor, a guy who made millions twice and lost them twice. He had an event in London which I ended up being a volunteer for so I could meet him.”

‘I gave him a sneak peek of nugget and he loved it. He also gave me some really good advice. He really is an idea machine and inspired me in many ways.”

Would you consider yourself a professional rebel?

“I’m always thinking of new things, coming up with new ideas and trying to improve on them. So yes, I would say so.”

What’s the last thing you bought under €50?

“I bought a bike here in Amsterdam and it was for under €50. It was a very good investment and today is the second time I’m coming to the office on a bike. So I’m starting to feel a bit local. I won’t come with a bike if it’s going to rain though, so I’m not that local.”

What are you doing in Amsterdam?

“I’m taking part in Renew the Book, a 40-day program helping five book-related startups with things like marketing and getting mentorship from publishing experts. It’s also a competition, which I keep forgetting, where the winner gets a €15,000 prize.”

Any tips to other rebels out there?

“Start working on things. It doesn’t necessarily have to be yours. It can also be a company that you like which has a nice vision or mission and you think you could add value to. Just do stuff.”

The lesson: Just do stuff.

Ovi and Roald (Chief Reporter)

--

--