Wow! Amazon wants to hire me?! 🥺

Ayomikun Osunseyi
3 min readSep 1, 2023

--

Earlier this week, I got this message on Whatsapp.

“Hello, my name is ALIYE. Sorry to bother you, but this is the human resources department of the Amazon marketplace. May I take a few minutes of your time?”

I knew this was a scam, but I was bored and just played along.

The next message was something like

“Our company is happy to provide you with a part-time job that you can do in your free time, so we need to recruit a large number of cooperative employees (no fee and no investment), this job is simple and flexible, will not interfere with your current work, and You can easily earn 2000–80000NGN in just 5–10 minutes a day. Are you interested in this job?”

I said yes, and they said:

“The task is very simple; it only takes 5 minutes, and you can get 600NGN, which is the starting bonus.”

“Wow, free money,” I said to myself.

Can you guess what the first task was?

Just guess before you read the next line.

Okay, here’s the task:

They sent me three unrelated YouTube videos to like and to send a screenshot of me liking the video to them.

Ohh wow😂

I played along and sent the screenshot to them.

After that…

They asked for my account number to send the money to.

I gave them jokingly, and lo and behold, they actually sent me the 600 naira.

Maybe I was wrong; maybe they are not a scam … just maybe.

I decided to play along to see where it would end.

Then they told me there was a second task.

Here’s what they wrote:

“Ok, now I am sending you New Employee specific test order, new employee specific job will be paid once every 3 orders. The commission amount will change for each order and will be paid together when you complete 3 orders.”

The first job was to like another YouTube Video and send a screenshot.

The second job was to register an account on their website (not Amazon website at all)

Now, here’s where the real scam began

Guess what they asked next?

Seriously, just guess.

Well, if you guessed right, they asked me to pay some money to activate my account 😂😂

And the minimum payment is almost 2X what they just sent to me.

I just laughed and thanked them for the free money😂

The scammer got furious and started yelling.

“The funds you pay are only used for matching tasks. After completing the task, the amount in the account can be withdrawn in full. This is not investing.”

Yeah, ya right, not investing, scamming.

Here’s something funny: Many people will fall for this scam.

And their logic is simple: since they paid me some money, they must be legit.

So even if some people like me know better, others will fall for the trap, making the scammer more money than he’s giving out.

The scammer already used something powerful in marketing, and that’s proof.

His proof was the free money he actually gave out… and once people get free money, many are already sold.

You can use various other forms of proof in your marketing to get tons of sales.

I cover some in my free book here.

Ayomikun Osunseyi

P.S.: If you have any copywriting project you need help with, use this link to apply to work with me.

But please, make sure you don’t work for fake Amazon 😂

--

--

Ayomikun Osunseyi

Sales Email Copywriter: Exceptional Email Copy for Online Businesses