Photo From Pinterest.

Garbage Piece

PromiaWrites
2 min readApr 23, 2024

--

It was a beautiful Saturday morning, another day of trying my luck. I pushed open the window opposite my desk and sat down, opening my laptop to write. The morning sun cast its rays against my desk and the cool breeze gently hit my skin. I closed my eyes inhaling the scent of nature, it was Autumn my favourite season of the year.

I’ve been feeling lethargic towards writing lately. There’ve been numerous topics and ideas to pen down but I just couldn’t get into the zone. I knew I needed to write and today seemed like the perfect day to do that, so I’m giving it a try.

I began typing on my laptop and it was a struggle to put together the right words that would properly express my thoughts. Regardless, I made it to the third paragraph before deciding to read through it.

After reading through the piece I wrote, it felt like garbage. In that moment, I was overcome with the feeling that I could no longer write well. This made me remember my hay days when every piece I wrote felt like heaven, now it seems as though what made my piece shone had been stolen.

My worries weighed me down as I sat at the desk feeling very worthless. In the midst of those negative thoughts, a still small voice said "Just edit it and post it," but unfortunately I drowned the voice of courage and succumbed to the voice of doubts. I believe you can guess the end of my story- weeks and months passed yet my so-called garbage piece never left my laptop.

--

--