25 Lessons I’ve Learned as a Developer

Being perpetually curious, coding to the conditions, bigheadedness, and more

Aphinya Dechalert
Modules&Methods

--

Photo by Pixabay from Pexels

I actually started coding a long time before I got my first job as a developer, booting up websites here and there for friends, and friends of friends. I grew up in the days of dial-up Internet, floppy disks, and cassette tapes — the classic 90s kid with the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air theme song playing around dinner time.

My first real job as a developer was somewhat accidental. I was hired to play the new marketing girl but ended up refactoring the entire mobile application front-end within six months of getting the job.

It was a weird jump and a massive learning curve. It was my tinkering days that got me through the door.

As we pass the midway mark and make our way through the second half of the year, I’ve been reflecting and thinking about my journey so far as a developer.

Here are 25 lessons based on my experiences and what I’ve learned from my journey thus far.

Lessons I’ve Learned as a Developer

  1. Everyone is essentially self-taught in the industry. Tech generally moves too fast for traditional educational institutions to catch up. If you want to boot up something quick…

--

--

Aphinya Dechalert
Modules&Methods

Where Development Meets Storytelling: Tech Writer, Editor & Dev Advocate. Translating Complexity into Clarity. DM me. linkedin.com/in/dechalert