Image composed by Aphinya Dechalert. Entitled ‘Newbie web developer watering seeds of professional growth’

How do you get out of noobville and go beyond the beginner’s tutorials as a developer?

a guide for upskilling from a self taught track

Aphinya Dechalert
Published in
12 min readMay 3, 2019

--

Web developers nowadays tend to be self-taught and entering the field with just enough knowledge to get started but not dangerous enough to dethrone those with computer science degrees.

A lot of self-taught developers get stuck in a space known as noobville, not because they’re bad at coding, but because they simply need some guidance. I remember being in noobville, once upon a time, about 7 years ago and wished for a guide that laid out what I needed to upskill.

There was a lot of trial and error, industry related revelations and dealing with new tech as they came out. After seeing my juniors go through the same struggles, I decide to write the guide I wish they had when I was their team lead.

So, without further ado, I present a guide for upskilling your web dev skills.

The technical trinity

I often like to call the core front end stack the technical trinity. It consists of HTML, CSS and JavaScript.

Let’s start with CSS

--

--

Aphinya Dechalert
Modules&Methods

Where Development Meets Storytelling: Tech Writer, Editor & Dev Advocate. Translating Complexity into Clarity. DM me. linkedin.com/in/dechalert