Which framework will it be?

Ionic isn’t the only framework to rule them all

A foray into native JavaScript mobile application development

Aphinya Dechalert
Published in
6 min readFeb 6, 2019

--

I remember my first Ionic app ever. It was a weekend on my 25th birthday. I was supposed to be celebrating but instead found myself excitedly running the build command for the calculator app I made the night before. I’ve been told that birthdays are supposed to be your one special day of the year. I used mine to learn a new framework and loved every moment of it.

Fast forward a few years later, I haven’t had the chance to pick up the framework since that day. Life happened. Work happened. Or rather, work followed me home and took over whatever time I used to dedicate to learning. But that’s a different story.

Over the past few days, I’ve been looking at Ionic again but since my last encounter with it, other frameworks have flourished and gained traction. It’s sort of like React rising out of nowhere to become as popular (if not more) than Angular. Here’s a list of a few other frameworks out there that look promising in my reevaluation of which framework to pick up for mobile development.

NativeScript

I didn’t know NativeScript existed until I found it as one of the requirements for a remote job I was looking at. It was at this moment that something…

--

--

Aphinya Dechalert
Modules&Methods

Where Development Meets Storytelling: Tech Writer, Editor & Dev Advocate. Translating Complexity into Clarity. DM me. linkedin.com/in/dechalert