this 15 minute budgeting strategy is all you need to smash your savings goals

raymond
5 min readFeb 5, 2024
the infamous pie chart

there’s a difference between taking control of your finances and micromanaging them.

Some people derive value from tracking every minute detail of their finances using complex spreadsheets and dashboards.

I’m not one of those people.

After trying out a variety of spending tracker templates out there, I learned that while I did make some pretty looking pie charts, I absolutely did not enjoy spending hours each month breaking down and pouring over my credit card statements. It felt like busywork to me.

I decided there was no other choice. I would have to make my own system. And so I did.

Using this system for the past six months, I’ve saved over 20% of my income.

I feel in control of my finances and my future like never before.

And here’s the best part: budgeting only takes only 15 minutes to do each month.

I call it the Fixed-Flex-20 rule, and at the end of this article I share the exact template I use on Google Sheets.

Let’s get into it.

the 50–30–20 rule is unnecessarily time consuming.

--

--

raymond

digestible weekly posts about navigating college and post-grad life, career-stuff, and personal finance • https://leapyears.substack.com/