When You Say “I Would Never Date A Trans Person,” It’s Transphobic. Here’s Why.

Sara C
9 min readAug 20, 2017
A cropped version of “I’m Complicated” by DestinyBlue (more at www.destinyblue.deviantart.com)

There has been a lot of discussion lately about transgender people, specifically about whether you are transphobic or not if you have a “preference” against dating trans people. Many well-meaning allies, friends, and family members of transgender people will say things like: “Well, I’m glad that Sara is living her life out loud, but I just don’t think I could ever date a trans person. It’s just a really personal preference for me.”

These people, and many others in the world, feel that it’s okay if trans people want to be out and live their life as a woman, a man, or a non-binary person, but ultimately, they say that they are just “not attracted” to any transgender people. Before we talk about how that sentiment alone is transphobic, I want to be direct about the fear that trans people, especially trans women, face in the world of dating cisgender people.

Side note: I’m going to write this from the perspective of a trans woman, because that’s the only experience I hold personally, however there are similar systems of

--

--

Sara C

Educator, author, and queer trans woman. Co-host of the Queer Sex Ed Podcast. More about QSE: www.queersexed.org. Support my work: www.patreon.com/queersexed