It’s Okay To Ask For Help

Qudsia Jamali
2 min readJan 16, 2023

--

Photo by Danie Franco on Unsplash

As an alpha woman, I have always thought that being able to handle everything on my own was a measure of my strength and worth as a person.

In 2022, I found myself stretched thin, trying to balance the demands of my career, family, and personal life. I was exhausted and burnt out, and it felt like no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t keep up with everything.

I’ve always been the one to give to others, whether it be my time, energy, or resources. But I realized that this constant giving had taken a toll on me. I found myself struggling with suicidal thoughts, feeling alone and overwhelmed.

As the saying goes, “no man (or woman) is an island.” We all need help at some point in our lives.

So, I opened up to my loved ones and colleagues.

In the start, I was ashamed and embarrassed for feeling vulnerable and exposed. There was a fear of rejection, judgement and co-dependency.

But with time it reduced the feelings of isolation and loneliness.
It Improved my ability to solve problems and I started to feel more confident in my abilities.

I was surprised by the outpouring of support I received. I learned that there is strength in vulnerability and that it takes courage to admit when we need help.

I learned that it’s okay to reach out to people and open up.

I realized that I couldn’t do it all on my own and that seeking help and support was not a sign of weakness, but a sign of strength.

I also learned to set boundaries and take time for myself, which I had always struggled with. I made sure to prioritize my mental and physical health, and found that when I took care of myself, I was better equipped to handle the demands of my life.

I emerged from that experience more robust and more resilient than ever before.

I urge you to break down the barriers that prevent you from asking for help. It’s okay to reach out for help, to open up about your struggles, and to take time for yourself. You are not alone in this.

Remember it’s okay to admit when you need a hand. It’s not a sign of weakness, but of strength.

--

--

Qudsia Jamali

Digital Marketing Professional | Writer | Urdu Editor & translator