The Letter A and The Sign of Tanit: A Secret History

RMWritings
3 min readJul 20, 2024

--

This one is more of a question, than an answer…

I’ve searched best I can, and have yet to find any mention of the letter A being a derivative of the sign of Tanit.

And yet… Let’s see for ourselves, images from the Greeks, Romans, Carthagians, Copts, and more.

Roman dice.

Athenian inscriptions.

Ancient agora complex, Athens

In fact, it shows up all sorts of places!

And yet… I Can’t seem to find anyone having made this connection? I can’t see it listed anywhere in the history of our alphabet?

So what role does Tanit play in our letter A?

It’s a VERY interesting thread to start unravelling…

You’ll see them everywhere once you start looking, then you’ll try to start tracking where and when it was used, I wonder if we’ll find the same answers.

More another time!

What do you think it means? Does the article deserve an A?

--

--