Major Key Alert 🔑: 3 Privacy Setting Tips for Snapchat

Snapchat.

The popular photo-sharing social media app that almost everyone with a social life has. (Don’t worry. Not having snapchat doesn’t make you a loser) First introduced in September of 2011, this unique photo-sharing app has taken social media to a whole new level.

Image Source: Digiday

What exactly is “Snapchat?”

Snapchat is both a messaging platform and a social network. It can’t be used from the regular computer, and exists only as a mobile app you can download to your iPhone or Android smartphone. Through the app, users connect with their peers through sharing images, or “Snaps,” that only last a maximum of up to 10 seconds. It was mainly created for users to share memories, or cool locations, however most users now use it as a way to show off to their friends what they are doing at every given moment of the day.

Now you may ask:

“How do I know who is viewing my “Snap Stories”, and who is saving these images?”

Well,

Snapchat has various ways of telling who is viewing your “stories” and “snaps” however it is up to the end user to set up their profile so that only the user’s approved friends can keep up with their profile. The following privacy tips will go over how to keep your profile safe, and away from any potential problems.

1. Ensure only your approved friends can view your Snaps.

Similar to other social media apps such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc., Snapchat allows users to search for anyone they want on the platform. If you have an account on Snapchat, anyone else with an account can find you.

Image Source: WikiHow

To make sure that only your friends are viewing your Snaps, edit your privacy settings to ensure only those whom you have added can see your content. To do this, “Access your settings from your profile tab (by tapping the ghost icon > gear icon) and look for the Contact Me option under the Who Can… heading in your settings to set it to My Friends.”

2. BE AWARE of the “Screenshotters”

A “Screenshotter” is someone who takes a screenshot, or “screengrab” (for the android users) of the Snaps, or stories you may post. It is important to be aware of these people for various reasons. Sometimes people send Snaps that are meant to be more personal or private… once screenshotted, that image can end up anywhere, so be careful on the content you send and who you send it to.

Image Source: Quora

To give users a heads up on who has saved their sent images or stories, Snapchat has implemented a notification system in which notifies the original content owner when someone else has saved your Snap. This is done through showing a green arrow on the story, or the log of snaps you have sent. If you see this green arrow, be aware that your content has been saved and can now end up anywhere on the internet.

3. Everything lasts forever

Contrary to the saying “nothing lasts forever,” this is the complete opposite when it comes to posting online to the web. Be aware that anything that is posted on the internet is there forever no matter what you may believe. All it takes is a simple screenshot, or a third party data breach and your content is now all over the internet for everyone to see.

Image Source: Missmalini

To avoid any mishaps or potential headaches, be conservative on what you post. The last thing you would want is to miss a potential employment opportunity, or life experience just because of a picture you posted at some point in your life.

By following these 3 tips, you will be that much more protected, and safe than those who do not. To read more tips on how to keep your Snapchat private, visit the following article by Lifewire.

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.