Things I Believe About COVID

Rafe Furst
2 min readJul 15, 2020

--

For context, I’ve spent roughly 100 hours over the last four months looking at statistics, scholarly articles, media and social media, and talking to friends who are scientists. I have a background in cognitive science. I have have not experienced symptoms nor have I been tested for COVID.

  • It is quite possible you will not have symptoms even if you were to become infected/test positive.
  • It is unlikely your kids will spread COVID asymptomatically.
  • As a 50 year old with no comorbidity factors, I will bet my bottom dollar you won’t die of COVID (see here as well)…
  • … and if you become infected, it’s almost certain you will not need to be hospitalized
  • … and you will almost certainly survive hospitalization, assuming the MATH+ Hospital Treatment Protocol for COVID-19 is followed (see here as well).
  • I am almost certain your 75+ year old relatives with no comorbidity factors will survive getting COVID, provided that they follow the MATH+ protocol.
  • If your 75+ relatives with one or more comorbidity factors get sick with COVID it is quite possible they will die of it.
  • It is almost certain that you won’t become infected or spread COVID if you are outdoors.
  • I am highly confident that masks make only a negligible difference in curbing the spread of COVID outdoors.
  • I am almost certain you can spend a few minutes indoors with asymptomatic people and not get infected, as long as you follow common sense.*

Unlikely means less than 10%

Quite possible means between 10% and 90%

Highly Confident means over 90%

Almost Certainly means over 99%

I’d Bet My Bottom Dollar means 1 in a 1,000+ chance it is true/false.

* common sense = don’t spend more than 10 minutes in close quarters, don’t get coughed or sneezed on, sanitize hands after.

--

--