Something better maybe

Bart Elison
2 min readSep 23, 2016

--

Patience is not one of my strong suits. I don’t do well in purgatory between life choices. Avoiding that mental gap was pushing me to rush and I am super grateful I took a bit of time to slow down. Over the past couple of weeks I’ve done a bit of consulting to test the waters and put the existing offers on hold. Thankfully this worked out really well in the end.

Look how smart Jen is:

I don’t know you either, but your intuition was right.

Last week an old coworker was having a lunch interview and happened to mention that she knew I was also looking. The CTO she was chatting with added me on LinkedIn. The valley is so small, we had actually met before and I knew at least one member of his team from prior work. I didn’t realize they had rebranded and so I didn’t recognize the name of the company.

Things moved pretty quickly from here. A phone call, a lunch with the team followed by a more technical meeting at their office. I can’t really explain it but I was so impressed with everyone I met. There was a unity in purpose and direction that is rare to find. I grilled them on product and process flows, something I’ve been thinking a lot about lately. Later I sat down with the CEO and chatted about the past, present and where he wants to go. I am so excited to be joining Nav. Check out the diversity of their team. Do you know how rare this is in Utah?

The day after I had decided it was the right move they announced a strategic partnership with Experian.

For those of you who may not know, that’s a huge deal. Experian has bought over 300 companies (third party info for which I take no responsibility). I can’t seem to escape the Fintech space. I think this is going to be an amazing ride.

--

--

Bart Elison

Reality consultant. VP of Engineering @Nav, former web app engineer Boombox, Qzzr, G5 Leadership, MX, more. Love small tech companies