Hop-on hop-off Service Introduced at Kalka-Shimla Railway section

Oct 27, 2018 · 3 min read

Listed at the world heritage site by the UNESCO in 2008, the Kalka-Shimla railway route has introduced Hop-on and Hop-off train service to the tourist and passengers traveling on to the route. The service is introduced and supervised by the Northern Railways Ambala Division and the Senior Divisional Commercial Manager, Mr. Praveen Gaur Dwivedi announced that the service will commence from 25th of Oct’18 for a trial period of 6 months on the trains running from Kalka to Shimla.

He further said, “The introduction of this service will enable the tourist to visit all the places of tourist’s interest of Kalka — Shimla section, on a single ticket.”

The Key features of this service are:
Passengers and board and deboard at any Station: The passengers can board any coach of the train, subject to the availability of seats and can deboard at any station they want to.

Fares Structure
The fare details differ according to the validity of the ticket. There are 3 types ticket validity.

One-Day Valid Ticket:
The ticket having a validity of single day costs INR 500 for adults and INR 250 for children.

Two-Days Valid Ticket:
The full fare of a two-day valid ticket is INR 800 for adults and INR 400 for children.

Three-Days Valid Ticket:
The fare for a three-day valid ticket costs INR 1000 for adults and INR 500 for children.

The tickets can be purchased from the booking offices of any station on Kalka-Shimla section.

Identification Proof Required
The passengers must submit a photocopy of a valid ID proof during the booking. The passengers must produce the valid Id o demand during journey. Failure to produce ID proof, will be considered as a WT passenger.

The Kalka-Shimla railway route is popular for its panoramic mountain view, tunnels and waterfalls. The tourists from all over the world gather during the peak season and enjoy the rail ride which displays the divine beauty of nature.

Attractions of the Route:
The railway network has 864 bridges, 919 sharp curves, the mountains of Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

Trains Running Under the Route
Shivalik Deluxe Express:
It has ten coaches, with chair cars and meal service.
Kalka-Shimla Express: First- and second-class compartment are available with the unreserved seating
Himalayan Queen: Connects at Kalka with the express mail of the same name and the Kalka Shatabdi Express to Delhi.
Kalka Shimla Passenger: First and second class and unreserved seating
Rail Motor: First-class railbus with a glass roof and a front view
Shivalik Queen: Ten-carriage luxury fleet. Each carriage accommodates up to eight people. Passengers can check the train running status easily for boarding and deboarding from trains.

Major Stations:
The route threads from the Himalayan Shivalik Hills foothills at Kalka, past Dharampur, Solan, Kandaghat, Taradevi, Barog, Salogra, Totu and Summerhill, with Shimla.

Recommended Read: 10 Busiest Stations in India

Railrestro is an e-catering service parter of IRCTC which help travelers to order hot savory food in train across India.

Welcome to a place where words matter. On Medium, smart voices and original ideas take center stage - with no ads in sight. Watch
Follow all the topics you care about, and we’ll deliver the best stories for you to your homepage and inbox. Explore
Get unlimited access to the best stories on Medium — and support writers while you’re at it. Just $5/month. Upgrade