These are the reasons why local leaders across Virginia are backing Ralph for governor

Ralph Northam
4 min readApr 21, 2017

--

When Ralph first ran for office, it was because of issues in his own backyard. So it’s no surprise that he’s committed to helping other people running for local office across Virginia.

Ralph works hard to help elect down-ballot Democrats because he believes our party is strongest when we have each other’s backs — and he knows it creates a strong bench for us to pull from in future elections.

Whether a local sheriff’s race, a board of supervisors election, or a congressional district up for grabs, Ralph’s been there to lend a hand and help keep Virginia blue. Here are some of the folks who know that best:

Derek Kitts, former candidate for the 9th Congressional District

“While campaigning in 2016 for the U.S. House of Representatives, I had the honor of getting to know the lieutenant governor as we campaigned side by side. I can say without hesitation that he is one of the most caring, sincere, and honest people that I have ever met. I am 110 percent behind Ralph Northam and would be proud to call him governor.”

Senator Jennifer Wexton, 33rd District

“Ralph has been a leader for our party his entire career. He was with me every step of my whirlwind special election and helped us flip two House of Delegates seats and three board of supervisor seats in Loudoun during my re-election. There is no better time and no better person to serve as our next governor.”

Kim Adkins, former candidate for the 20th Senate District

“When I ran for Virginia State Senate, the lieutenant governor was the first statewide elected official to reach out to me to show his support. He not only took my calls and the time to talk to me during many Democratic events, but he also came to the opening of my campaign headquarters, participated in fundraisers on my behalf, and reached out to his donors, telling them to pay attention to my candidacy and race. I was raised on the Eastern Shore of Maryland but spent many summers with my grandparents on the Eastern Shore of Virginia. Lt. Governor Northam and I share a love of the Eastern Shore and could relate to the challenges facing rural Virginia. He would make a great governor of our commonwealth.”

Mike Hamlar, former senate candidate for the Virginia 19th

“If there’s one thing I appreciate about Ralph, it’s how open and accessible he is to anyone that comes through his door. When I’ve been up in Richmond, he’s been a sounding board for ideas and good advice. When I ran for state senate, I’ll never forget that he came down to my campaign headquarters with pizza, ready to roll up his sleeves and make calls for me. He even helped me with my fundraising efforts. That’s how invested he’s been in Virginia and the Democratic Party, and that’s why I’ll be rolling up my sleeves to get to work electing him as our next governor.”

Fairfax County Sheriff Stacey Kincaid

First re-elections are always tough. In 2015, Ralph joined me in my critical battle to win and continue reforms in the sheriff’s office. He is a reliable fighter for the betterment of all Virginians.

Delegate Jennifer Boysko, 86th District

“Ralph has worked hard to support other candidates over the years. In 2013 and 2015, he stood by my side when I ran for the House of Delegates. He attended several events with me and served as my special guest at fundraisers. Ralph was especially helpful to our Emerge Virginia program, when he and his wife Pam opened their home to our class of “emerging” Democratic women leaders for a large fundraiser. And once I was voted into the House of Delegates, he has consistently made himself available to help me on policy matters. I’ve enjoyed working with him on a number of initiatives and appreciate his guidance and leadership. Ralph Northam has been there for me and I know that as governor he will continue to be an asset for all of us in Virginia.”

--

--

Ralph Northam

Virginia’s lieutenant governor. Husband, father, doctor, and veteran, and candidate for governor.