Ram Gangisetty
2 min readFeb 18, 2016

--

I think this question of whether government can be trusted with a ‘backdoor’ key will is worth a furious debate. I can’t think of anything more consequential than this. As Tim Cook said it has implications far and beyond, I think we that he means it affects everyone, globally. Period.

But, what is the right way toward? We can’t give up our privacy yet nothing is more worth than life itself. If someone is privately talking with bad intentions the safety keeper (Government) needs to know so we can prevent another Boston or Paris or San Bernadino.

I think at the heart of the question is can we trust the government with our data? When I ask myself this question in my subconscious mind one thought rings loud. Amazon, Google and Apple already know what I’m searching for, who I’m emailing and what I’m buying or listening to. If I can trust private companies, owned and operated by shareholders, why can’t I trust the government with this. Let’s face it, the government is not going to pry on every single one of us. But only those I suspects. I rather have peace that someone is watching all the communications and keeping us safe than no one is watching any one of us it’s a Wild West — anyone can collaborate to harm anyone or group.

Privacy is already a myth. We are constantly being watched when we step out the door. Who knows what servers our Family photos are stored when we share on social network, what is the guarantee that no one is stealing that information.

I finally come down to this. I think government should have access only information with special permission from judicial system comprised of law enforcement, privacy advocate and legal experts.

But I know there are much greater minds at work on this issue. So I’ll wait to hear what they come up with.

--

--