An Unlikely Place To Learn

Rawlings Tigers
4 min readJul 7, 2019

Airplanes, airports, anything with air and you will never be short of someone’s opinion. When you get people stuffed into a chapstick tube traveling 450mph you’re bound to have a memorable moment.

Example, I was running late for my boarding time and recovering from my sprint the flight attendant pointed me to my seat. I stowed my items, sat down, and took a big sigh of relief. I hear a voice say, “just made it in time.” I turned my head to the right and I see a blond hair, blue eyed, well dressed women. It was an ex-girlfriend.

Your probably not short of moments just like the one I had where you ran into someone you know or found yourself sprinting down the terminal of L-A-X. But whats “cool” about airplanes is that you have impromptu mini networking events. Recently, I went to Puerto Rico on a family vacation and we had a connecting flight to Ft. Lauderdale. We were flying Southwest.

At check-in we were given group “C” boarding, so were bound to get a middle seat. As I was walking to the back of the plane I noticed an exit aisle next to two older gentlemen — . “SCORE!” Exit aisle, a lot of room, and I am closer to front of the plane.

I am one who doesn’t converse on flight. I use my time to work on projects, type blogs, and catch up on my reading.

Midway through the flight, I started typing on my computer. I’m in my train of thought when I hear, “You heading home?”

First thought, “Crap.”

I then replied with a smile, “I am heading to Puerto Rico.”

The guy smiles and says, “I noticed you’re into baseball.”

I replied, “Yes.”

“I hope you don’t mind, I was reading over your shoulder. Interesting topic.”

I responded, “Thanks, umm, I…”

I didn’t know how to respond. I felt a little insecure about someone reading over my shoulder, and he caught me off-guard. Before I could say something else he said, “My name is Barry. I am a trainer for the St. Louis Cardinals. I don’t always talk on planes, and I know your busy in your work, but I had to say something.”

Then we both heard an excited voice near the window, “You work for the St. Louis Cardinals?!? I was the agent for Miguel Bautista! I don’t know if you knew who him while you were there.”

Next thing I know I am in an advanced baseball conversation. We spoke about every which way you could think about the game. We went from showcases, player development, to professional athletes.

What transpired was three guys realizing how this game is a small world. We talked about how talent and intangibles play a huge role. but more importantly, we found a mutual belief that this game is filled with opportunity. There is more opportunity now, then there ever has been. The problems lie in knowing what works.

There are so many choices for players to market themselves and gain knowledge with showcases, college camps, summer baseball, strength training, and throwing programs. After conversing for three hours the conclusion was simple: play in a stable travel program, enjoy other sports, and be athletic.

Showcases are nice, college camps have their place, development programs are needed, but it ultimately comes down to playing the game. If I could prioritize our entire conversation here is where I would rank the priorities.

1. Athleticism wins

2. Play in the best program you can. The program should be focused around developing physical, mental, and emotional skills.

3. Develop your athleticism and skills through multiple sports, strength training, and development programs.

4.Showcases and college camps should be used sparingly.

5.Never focus all your intention in one sport to early (before high school).

6.Always be ready for your opportunity.

7.Scouts recruit players not teams.

I am running out of length on this blog, but the trainer told me a very interesting story. I feel like it serves a huge purpose with tryouts.

Hint- its a Frog who faces an unlikely foe.

Read now https://link.medium.com/xDBrKhexfY

Spiker Helms |rawlingstigers.com

Learn more about our program at rawlingstigers.com

www.rawlingstigers.com

--

--

Rawlings Tigers

Dedicated to player development | rawlingstigers.com| #TeamRawlings