Daily Devotional

Finding my way
2 min readMay 1, 2023

--

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a peace for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness and into his marvelous light.

1 Peter 2:9

Imagine someone telling you that you belong to a royal family? Yea, I wouldn’t believe it either. I would want facts; I would want someone to show me my ancestral tree and prove to me that I was the daughter of a king. If they couldn’t prove it, then how would I know?

When I was 16 years old, I went to a youth retreat called, “WWJD (What would Jesus do)”. I went with zero intentions of being saved, I only went because my boyfriend at the time invited me to go. These were the days where my addiction first started and since I was a people pleaser, I went for him. I had no interest in what the retreat was about even though I knew who God was. Little did I know that it’s never our plans on where we are but only divine appointments. The encounter I had with the Holy Spirit on baptism day is one I still have a hard time putting eloquently into words because there truly is no words for something that spiritual. Time stopped, I watched my hair float around me and all I could hear was the light swooshing from the water in my ears. Somehow my eyes were open, and this big orb of light was shining down on me, calming my spirit, making me whole, showing me that I wasn’t alone. It felt like I was down in the water forever, a part of me never wanted to come out. I remember being ripped up like Velcro that is newly stuck to itself. I looked at the pastor that baptized me and muttered, “how long was I down there?” and then the tears just flowed.

I don’t need someone to prove to me who I know I am. When you are the daughter of not only a king but THE king you can feel it inside of you. You can feel it through your very being. I wasn’t quite ready to be pulled out of the darkness and into the light at the time but that encounter with the Holy Spirit was something I held onto my whole life.

What do you hold onto that tells you deeply that you are a chosen race?

--

--

Finding my way

Sober Jan 2021 and in the process of healing, loving and learning to let go.