Join our committed team as volunteer to work for uprooted people

By: Betty Nabukenya

FCJ Refugee Centre
2 min readFeb 22, 2018
©FCJ Refugee Center/2018

I worked on the reception, and I enjoyed interacting with different people from different backgrounds.

FCJ is a great community centre where staff members are so friendly and welcoming. I have really gained experience in my field with the help of staff members especially Carolina Teves who was my supervisor. She never got tired of helping me where necessary. I liked working with all the staff members at FCJ and I will surely miss them.

©FCJ Refugee Center/2018

I finished my placement in mid-January 2018 and FCJ organised a surprise farewell get together with the staff members. I was so surprised and happy. I cut the cake and said good bye to Francisco, Diana, Carolina, Loly and other staff members. I am really grateful to work with FCJ and I will always miss them. Thanks for the training you have provided, your support during the time I worked with you and keep the good spirit of helping newcomers and refugees in Canada.

* * * * *

FCJ Refugee Centre strives to meet the diverse needs of uprooted people in communities across Ontario. FCJ Refugee Centre attempts to address the problems of poverty and lack of resources, isolation, and discrimination through community-based programs, which promote self-help, personal growth, community economic development and social justice.

If you are interested in volunteering at FCJ Refugee Centre please visit our website for more information: www.fcjrefugeecentre.org/about-us/volunteering/

--

--