Amber Brooks Heading Back to the Pacific Northwest to Make an Impact with Seattle

Reign FC
3 min readApr 1, 2015

--

On Monday afternoon, Seattle Reign FC announced the acquisition of midfielder Amber Brooks as part of a four-player trade with the Western New York Flash.

The trade returns the New Hope, Pennsylvania native to the Pacific Northwest ahead of her second year in the NWSL. Brooks, 24, spent last season with the Portland Thorns FC before being traded to the Flash in November 2014.

“I really enjoyed the Pacific Northwest last year,” said Brooks. “The fans are great and I’ve heard nothing but good things about Seattle, both the team and as a place to live. I think it will be a great stop on my adventure.”

Brooks, who appeared in 20 games (19 starts), recorded one goal and two assists with the Thorns FC. A third round (No. 24 overall) pick in the 2013 NWSL College Draft by Portland, she decided to play abroad.

Following the draft, Brooks made 22 appearances for Bayern Munich in the Frauen-Bundesliga, notching 10 goals in two seasons. She credits her time in Germany as having a profound effect on her style as a midfielder.

“I think playing in Germany helped expand my style as a player because the focus is more on the technical and tactical side of the game so that was really great to experience,” added Brooks. “They play a very disciplined style and it’s more of a team effort and a lot less individualistic which taught me how to apply my skills and strengths to better further the team.”

Though her time with Western New York was short lived, Brooks was featured in two preseason friendlies. Against Western Virginia University, she notched an assist during a 4–0 win and played the first 45 minutes in an 8–1 win over Syracuse University.

As she looks toward the 2015 season, Brooks feels good about where she is at in her preparations and is hoping to have immediate impact with her new team.

“I feel like I have performed really well this preseason. I feel good on the ball and my confidence is up,” noted Brooks. “I am looking to make an impact on both sides of the pitch, offensively and defensively, and do whatever I can to help my team win.”

Brooks sees the move to Seattle as a step in the right direction for her professional career, noting the opportunity to play along side Kim Little, Jess Fishlock and Keelin Winters.

“I am excited to be back in a city where soccer is in people’s blood and they’re as excited for our games as they are for American football,” said Brooks. “I know the quality of players here and the type of soccer Reign play. I have a goal of winning a championship and I look forward to getting to work.”

Above all, she is looking forward to being back in the Pacific Northwest with her sights set on a championship season.

--

--

Reign FC

Reign FC is a founding member of the nine-team National Women’s Soccer League. #LetItReign