Jessica Fishlock and Lauren Barnes Named Co-Captains

Reign FC
3 min readApr 6, 2017

Seattle Reign FC general manager and head coach Laura Harvey has announced that midfielder Jessica Fishlock and defender Lauren Barnes will serve as the team’s co-captains for the 2017 NWSL season.

“Taking over the captaincy from Keelin [Winters] was always a big job for anyone that was going to do it. At the end of last year when I knew the transition of a lot of different players was happening, the two that always stuck out to me were Lu and Jess,” said Harvey. “They have the utmost respect for each other and they can get the utmost respect from the group. Their partnership together can be so strong they can push the team onwards and pull the team out of any hole we may find ourselves in.”

“I love this club. It’s been my family and pretty much my life for the past five years,” said Barnes. “I wouldn’t want to be partnered with anyone else but Jess. We’ve grown the last five years together and she’s always been a huge mentor to me. I think it’s going to be so much fun for both of us.”

Both Fishlock and Barnes have been with the team since the inaugural season in 2013, and have logged over 7,000 minutes each for the club. Fishlock is second all-time in club history for assists with 14, and Barnes has started 88 of the club’s 90 total matches over the past five seasons.

“I have been at this club since day one, and it is a huge honor for me to captain this club and all that it represents,” said Fishlock. “Especially alongside the brilliant Lu Barnes who will help me and the Reign be the best we can be.”

“Collectively they bring exactly what you want from a captain,” said Harvey. “Jess is very much tactically based in how she can help players on the field. Her attitude to train and how she manages her body and herself on and off the field is something younger players can learn from. I think Lu is a similar character to Keelin in the sense that she’s the glue that can hold everything together.”

Reign FC open their 2017 regular season on Saturday, April 15th at Memorial Stadium when they host Sky Blue FC. Single match tickets are now available. To purchase tickets, visit reignfc.com/tickets or call the Reign FC ticket office at (855) REIGN-FC.

--

--

Reign FC

Reign FC is a founding member of the nine-team National Women’s Soccer League. #LetItReign