Reign FC midfielder Mariah Bullock announces retirement

Reign FC
6 min readOct 8, 2015

Today is a bittersweet day in the Reign FC and women’s soccer world as midfielder Mariah Bullock (née Nogueira) has announced her retirement from professional soccer. After three seasons in the NWSL, the midfielder is hanging up her boots and heading back to school to pursue a Ph.D in Psychology at Brigham Young University.

“Retirement is bittersweet. Soccer has been a huge part of my identity for my whole life,” said Bullock of her decision to retire. “I still have such a love and passion for the game and I know I could still physically and technically compete, so that makes stepping away difficult. However, I do feel confident that this is my time, and knowing that I have so many great things to transition into makes it exciting and comforting.”

Bullock, 24, made 28 appearances (10 starts) and tallied one goal in two seasons with Reign FC. She joined Reign FC prior to the start of the 2014 season as the club’s roster experienced an overhaul and head coach and general manager Laura Harvey made waves with trade after trade, one of which with the Boston Breakers to bring Bullock across the country. She registered three goals and one assist in 1,408 minutes (20 games, 16 starts) as part of the Breakers in 2013.

“I really want to thank everyone at Reign FC, as well as other players, coaches, and staff that I’ve played with over the years, for helping me create a career I can look back on with pride and smiles. Each one of you has helped shape me and have contributed to the beautiful memories that I’ll keep in my heart forever.”

The midfielder was a wrecking ball in the center of the pitch, pairing nicely with fellow midfielders Jess Fishlock and Keelin Winters. To take it one step further, Bullock bought in to Harvey’s system, and her role within a squad that had everything to prove in 2014 after finishing second to last the year prior.

The midfield would have a significant presence in the center that included winning stray balls and anything in the air to keep opposing teams from gaining momentum, shoring up any points still left on the table before the final whistle blew.

“Mariah’s character, work ethic and drive to be better have pushed this squad onto new levels. Her commitment to this team over two seasons was exceptional,” Harvey said. “I know whatever Mariah does in her future she will be successful at because she has that type of personality. I wish her and her husband Elliott every happiness in their lives together.”

In addition to her strong play, Bullock blended organically within the close knit environment in the locker room or away from the field. It’s difficult to put that sort of closeness into words, but from day one, the fit in Seattle was perfect.

“I honestly would have never pictured an overall environment better than what I experienced with the Reign these past two years,” Bullock said. “I have endless gratitude for Laura and Bill [Predmore] for including me in the vision, after that first year, that has been shaped into what we are today. This is a city, staff, and team that fertilizes people. I almost don’t want to gush about it too much because it still feels like our little secret oasis.”

Fans, too, were able to see a side of Bullock off the field within her own episodes of the 90+ series. She took fans on Seattle adventures that included her industrial design internship, skateboarding through Seattle Center, her game day routine, and other tidbits of how she spent her time in her home of two years.

“Aw man, there’s too many special moments to name but bridge jumping, the boat party last year, my bachelorette party, getting to finally score with this team, winning the shield two years in a row, and all the little moments where people’s individual crazy came out to play come to mind. The donkey game will always be a favorite of mine,” Bullock noted.

During the semi-final of the 2015 season, Bullock made her last appearance for Reign FC. With her first touch of the match, she slotted a shot into the upper net to score her first goal for her final professional team.

“I think if you talk to anyone on a team of any sort, they will almost always say that the big takeaway is the people. This was a special bunch of characters here at Reign FC, from our owners to our kit man,” Bullock added. “I’ll miss being a part of those shenanigans every day. As far as soccer, I just really love playing. It gives me so much joy and satisfaction.

“My husband teases me about how I would call him at the end of the day, manically describing little plays from practice. I’ll miss competing with and against the best players in the world and continually pushing my limits as a player.”

So what’s next for Bullock? It’s back to school as she is currently enrolled in Brigham Young University’s Clinical Psychology Ph.D program.

“I’ve known I wanted to be a licensed psychologist since my last year of undergrad. I’m really passionate about mental health and I want to help youth and young adults battle depression, anxiety, and suicide. Last offseason I decided it was the time to apply and thankfully I’m able to start making another one of my dreams come true. I’m (finally) living with my husband in Utah, settling into “normal” life, and eagerly looking for a coed soccer team to join.”

Bullock’s passion for the game, for her teammates, and her overall presence will be missed in the Reign FC locker room next year.

Congratulations on a wonderful career and best of luck in the years to come!

--

--

Reign FC

Reign FC is a founding member of the nine-team National Women’s Soccer League. #LetItReign