Reign FC’s 2015 Expansion Draft protected and unprotected list

November 2nd is right around the corner (EDIT: IT’S HERE), and with it looms the 2015 Expansion Draft. Last week, Orlando Pride were revealed as the tenth club to join the NWSL and they will kick off their season in 2016.

To help let the Pride get the ball rolling, Orlando will be able to select up to ten players in the Expansion Draft. The catch is that no club can lose more than two players.

Each current NWSL club has had the opportunity to protect nine (playoff teams) or ten (non-playoff teams) players from their 2015 roster. So as you can imagine, your Seattle Reign FC can protect nine players. Each team may protect up to two U.S. allocated players and any additional U.S. allocated players on a team’s roster must be left unprotected.

Up until Monday morning, that wasn’t really an issue seeing as Reign FC only had Hope Solo and Megan Rapinoe, but with the addition of USWNT defender Meghan Klingenberg, Seattle now has one USA member unprotected on its list. Here’s the thing: If the Pride choose a USWNT member from team, they cannot take anyone else from that squad.

The results of the Expansion Draft will be announced via social media starting at 9 a.m. PT on Monday, November 2 and we will be sure to keep you updated on who goes where at our very own twitter handle @SeattleReignFC.

We’ve only listed Reign FC’s list below, but you can see who was protected by each team here. If you’re still a bit confused, no worries. You can view the Expansion Draft procedures here.

Seattle Reign FC

Lauren Barnes
Rachel Corsie
Jessica Fishlock
Kendall Fletcher
Kim Little
Megan Rapinoe (USA)
Hope Solo (USA)
Keelin Winters
Beverly Yanez

Michelle Cruz
Kiersten Dallstream
Danielle Foxhoven
Meghan Klingenberg (USA)
Haley Kopmeyer
Merritt Mathias
Elli Reed
Havana Solaun
Caroline Stanley
Katrine Veje
Abby Wambach*

* = Allocated status was TBD, Recently announced retirement