Sinead Farrelly Announces Retirement from Professional Soccer

Reign FC
3 min readDec 2, 2016

Sinead Farrelly has announced her retirement from professional women’s soccer. The Pennsylvania native played four years in the NWSL, amassing three goals and two assists. Seattle Reign FC obtained the rights to Farrelly after selecting the midfielder off the NWSL Re-Entry Wire this past October.

Farrelly began her professional career with the Philadelphia Independence of Women’s Professional Soccer (WPS), after being drafted second overall in the 2011 WPS draft out of the University of Virginia. After the WPS folded, the midfielder played for the Western New York Flash in the WPSL Elite before signing with Apollon Limassol of the Cypriot First Division.

FC Kansas City signed Farrelly prior to the NWSL’s inaugural season in 2013. After a solid season in KC she was traded to Portland Thorns FC, where she spent the 2014 and 2015 seasons. The midfielder was then traded to the Boston Breakers before the start of the 2016 season.

“I find it kind of cool that I’ve had the chance to play in both the WPS and NWSL. I just feel like I got to be part of the group that struggled to make this thing really work,” said Farrelly. “The potential for this sport is so massive and I believe it has only just begun.”

Unfortunately, the opportunity to suit up for the Breakers never came, as Farrelly was involved in a serious car accident in September 2015. Farrelly suffered both neck and back injuries as well as a concussion. As a result, she spent the 2016 NWSL season on the disabled list.

Farrelly continues to battle her injuries, including post-concussion symptoms, such as depression, anxiety, headaches, fatigue and mood swings.

“Although I have made progress, it’s still something I struggle with week-to-week. With the added pressure of trying to get healthy enough to play soccer again, my body and mind could not and cannot take it any longer,” said Farrelly. “Do I think I’m going out on my own terms? Not really. I didn’t have any plans to quit soccer soon. I wasn’t ready and I didn’t see an end in sight for quite a while. What I do feel now is that I don’t have any other choice. So technically, I am making this decision and it’s for my own good.”

Stepping away from the game she loves is difficult, but for Farrelly, it came down to making the best of the situation she was in.

“This has been one of my most difficult decisions and one that still pains me, but I am learning to be okay with it. I feel like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders,” said Farrelly. “I know that I have new paths to travel and with the loss of one dream will form the creation of many others. I will cherish every memory I have had these past five years and will keep them close to my heart always. Thank you to everyone who has influenced my soccer journey and to everyone who will continue to believe in me now that my career has come to an end.”

While Farrelly is unsure of what the future holds for her outside of soccer, her main focus is her health and taking things day-by-day.

“I was holding onto a dream and a person that I have finally accepted are not there anymore. Although I haven’t truly found myself yet, I am now sure that soccer does not and will not be my entire identity,” said Farrelly. “My plan is to get healthy and get back to feeling normal. Normalcy is my new goal. I crave it every day. Just to feel like I’m thinking clearly and that I am myself are the only things I wish for. I’m taking off all the pressure I’ve put on myself and I’m going to do the small things that make me happy.”

Photo credit Tim Bouwer/isiphotos.com

--

--

Reign FC

Reign FC is a founding member of the nine-team National Women’s Soccer League. #LetItReign