Where Are They Now: Mariah Bullock

Reign FC
6 min readOct 25, 2016

Midfielder Mariah Bullock, nee Nogueira, competed in the NWSL from 2013 to 2015, playing two seasons with Seattle Reign FC after her rookie campaign with the Boston Breakers. During her career with Reign FC, Bullock appeared in 30 matches, scoring one goal and tallying one assist.

Bullock announced her retirement from professional soccer in 2015. We caught up with the former pro to look back on her time in Seattle and see what she’s up to now.

How would you summarize your time with Reign FC?

“Special. It was probably the healthiest and most competitive training environment that I’ve experienced. From top to bottom, the organization treated us with the most respect and professionalism possible in this league. I always think that beyond soccer, what you’re left with is the people, and there were just some class people there.”

Was your time with the club anything like you expected heading into it?

“I really wasn’t sure what to expect. I only had my first year in the league as an anchor. I had heard great things from my friends that I had reached out to prior to preseason, but really it was better than I expected. Obviously you have expectations for yourself in terms of performance and playing time, but the overall positive experience of the organization and the city outweighed any personal disappointments in that regard.”

You were with the team for its two most successful seasons in 2014 and 2015. What was it like to achieve that kind of success with the club?

“I’ve been fortunate to be a part of several successful teams in my career. The experience changes as you transition from club to college to professional, and I imagine internationally. It’s always fun to win, but what I found was so exciting about my time with Seattle is that first year I was there, the team was bouncing back from a more difficult season, results wise.”

“Every win was celebrated and appreciated even past the point where we realized we were championship contenders. It felt like a turning point for the club and to see the coaches’ and managers’ vision come to fruition that season was fun to be a part of. Every game with that team I thought we would win. If we were down, to the final minute, I believed we could come back. That’s the kind of confidence I had in my teammates and coaches.”

One of the more memorable moments during your time with the club was your late goal in the 2015 semifinal against Washington. Can you take us back through that moment?

“That was fun. I felt like I was just coming on to close the game out, but then we had a corner kick. It got swung in and someone got onto the first ball. It popped up and the keeper went to grab it. Bev was in front of me and I called for her to challenge the keeper. Thanks to that, the punch didn’t go very far and bounced awkwardly to my stomach. A defender was rushing me, so I needed to get a shot off quickly and volleyed it in.”

“It all happened very quickly. When I score, I get tunnel vision and don’t hear a thing, so I can’t give you many details about afterwards. But mostly I wanted to celebrate with my team, and especially the bench. We developed a unique culture on the bench and, to me, my goal felt like a goal for everyone there. Their reaction is what made me feel the most special in that whole moment.”

Now that you’ve retired, what are you doing currently?

“I am currently in my second year of graduate school at BYU on the way to getting my PhD in Clinical Psychology. I’m doing coursework, giving assessments for clinical disorders, and just started doing therapy! Although the transition was difficult at first, it’s been pretty amazing and has given me new purpose.”

What have you had more time to devote to and focus on?

“To be honest, I probably had more free time when I was playing for the Reign! But I told myself that I would never say, “I can’t, I have soccer” again. Having a proper weekend again is fun and I’ve loved being able to play other sports again. I joined a couple volleyball and softball leagues here with my husband and want to get good at snowboarding.”

“Obviously I’ve been able to stimulate my mind again, in a way I honestly wasn’t even able to do in undergrad. To be a full time student, not a student-athlete, is a completely new experience and I get to see what I’m truly capable of when I’m not being stretched in multiple directions. So that’s exciting.”

What are you most looking forward to right now and your goals going forward?

“Wow, I don’t know. I look forward to narrowing my career focus through clerkships and externships in different mental health settings. I look forward to spending time with my husband [Elliot] and dog [Roo] every day. I’ve very much embraced this whole married civilian lifestyle. I hope to graduate and become a licensed psychologist in the next four years. We’ll eventually start a family, but I’m honestly not there right now, so you don’t need to ask.”

“My fitness goals are just to be happy and healthy, which takes so much stress off of me. I look forward to seeing where life takes us and where we settle down. Another goal is to have Elliott catch the travel bug. All help welcome.”

Are you still playing soccer when you can? Keeping up with Reign FC?

“Of course. I still itch to play all the time. Watching is actually really hard for me because a large part of me still wants to be out there. But I definitely followed along this past season. I play in coed leagues and with the Real Salt Lake Women during the summer. It’s so fun to play with no expectations or pressures. I play with no reserve and for pure joy. My hope is that everyone plays that way, regardless of the circumstances. My favorite part is that people, especially guys, just have no idea who I am and they praise me with such surprise afterwards.”

Is there anything in particular that you miss about playing professionally?

“So many things. Being a part of a team and everything that comes with. The level of play. Being paid to play soccer everyday! Pushing your limits and challenging yourself. Random people caring about who you are. Competing for something that matters. Just to name a few…”

Do you have any advice for players once they decide to hang up the boots?

“Aw man, this whole thing is going to sound really ‘Psych-y.’ Prepare for an identity shift and prepare for grief. I wonder if I could do a psych study on the grief of losing soccer compared to other traumatic events (I say that in the most sensitive and kind of joking tones). Start thinking about what else you’re passionate about now and pursue those options.”

“We’re all more than just a soccer player and having something else to throw yourself into makes the switch easier. If soccer is still important to you, keep it in your life to whatever degree you can or want to. Lean on your social support system. Not knowing what you want to do after soccer is okay! And call me if you need therapy or someone to talk to [laughter].”

--

--

Reign FC

Reign FC is a founding member of the nine-team National Women’s Soccer League. #LetItReign