Women Who Reign: Cheryl Fichter

Reinvented Magazine
4 min readMar 9, 2016

If you don’t get out of the box you’ve been raised in, you won’t understand how much bigger the world is.” — Angelina Jolie
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tell us about yourself along with a fun fact!
Hello! My name is Cheryl Fichter, and I’m a sophomore Chemical Engineer at UC Davis. I’m the Publicist for the Society of Women Engineers, and I’m also in a sorority. I am interning with PG&E this summer, which I am very excited about! Something interesting about me is that I grew up in a pretty rural town in Maine, so I was quite overwhelmed by the tech culture when I moved to the Bay Area. It amazes me that so many innovative companies and people are all gathered in the same area, and I’ve found it to be a very inspiring place to live and go to school.

What # would define your life journey?
I think my life moto has been #JustDoIt, because I’ve taken a couple big leaps-of-faith in my life, and I try not to let the fear of failure stop me from being brave. I had the opportunity to move from Maine to California during my senior year of high school, which was very intimidating and nerve-wracking. It would’ve been much easier to stay where I was comfortable, but I ended up loving California so much that I stayed here for college. I proved to myself that amazing experiences are waiting as long as you aren’t…

--

--