Notes from Xalapa

Renetta Garrison Tull
2 min readJul 24, 2018

--

Renetta G. Tull, 3rd from right, with colleagues in Xalapa, Mexico, after giving a plenary talk on “Women in Technology,” and just prior to being interviewed on Spanish radio station, Radio Universidad Veracruzana 90.5 FM XHRUV, about being an African-American in STEM in the US. “Notes from Xalapa” was written in the car the next morning, during the 1.5 hour ride from Xalapa to Veracruz International Airport as I was preparing to return to the U.S. “Notes from Xalapa” reflects upon participants’ comments, who said that they were inspired to meet a Black woman with Master’s and PhD degrees in science and engineering, working to improve “Global Diversity & Inclusion in STEM.”

I am the Black woman,

Science and engineering scholar.

I am the vision that you never knew existed.

I am the “out-of-the-box” scholar who loves and hugs and doesn’t keep her distance.

I show the future to your sons and daughters,

And am the friend that you never knew you had,

Until you met me.

I am the voice that you never knew you needed to hear,

Until you listened.

Whether I speak your language or not,

My eyes and smile convey that I see you,

And value you,

And you tell me that you carry that with you,

And so I am happy to have made your acquaintance.

I learn from you,

You learn from me,

And together,

We are better.

So now that you know me,

Come. Take my hand.

Join me in the struggle to lift others up,

To cast light into dark places,

And to hold truth as dear.

My “I” turns to “we,”

And now, my friends,

We work …

Together.

And we advance.

“Adelante” my dear friends,

“Adelante.”

--

--

Renetta Garrison Tull

Dr. Renetta G. Tull, Assoc V. Provost @UMBC; Dir. @PROMISE_AGEP @USM_LSAMP @NSF; Professor -Prac Engineering & IT #SDGs; Global #STEM Mentor; #ThinkBigDiversity