Keep The Faith

Bon Jovi – Crossroads, Greatest Hits

RetroVantage
4 min readJun 14, 2024

Bon Jovi is one of those classic rock bands that has stood the test of time and lasted a lifetime through the later part of GenXer’s childhoods, their teenage years, and well into their adulthood. Jon Bon Jovi has proven himself to be a kindhearted, honest, talented man with a lifetime of achievements behind him and not just in the music industry.

By 1994, Bon Jovi the band had established themselves as a powerhouse band through the 80s and 90s since their first self-titled album release in 1984. So, when they released their Crossroads, Greatest Hits album, it was no surprise years later when the album was certified 4 times platinum in the USA and achieved diamond status in Canada. With producers like Bruce Fairbairn, Bob Rock, Peter Collins, Danny Kartchmar, Lance Quinn, and Jon Bon Jovi’s cousin Toni Bongiovi alongside Richie Sambora and Jon Bon Jovi, a lot of the songs on the compilation album had hit number one in many countries around the world. The compilation is a span from 1982–1994 and includes some of the band’s biggest hits during that time period including You Give Love A Bad Name from their Slippery When Wet album, Blaze Of Glory from the Young Guns 2 soundtrack, and two newly released songs, one of which was Someday I’ll Be A Saturday Night. From the beginning with their first big mainstream hit, You Give Love A Bad Name, to their newest 1994 releases on the greatest hits album, Bon Jovi’s Crossroads was an album that encompassed my younger years.

I was 10 years old, consistently listening to the local radio station that played Top 40 hits and I heard a unique sound coming from a new release in 1986 that made me wonder what the hell I was listening to. It was a guttural growl of a guitar in time with a unique drum beat. And when a singer named Jon Bon Jovi broke out into a hard rock style of spoken lyrics, “once upon a time, not so long ago,” I took notice. And the sultry refrain, “ooh, we’re halfway there, ooh, livin’ on a prayer…” hit me hard.

One of my favourite things about rock in the 80s and 90s was the storytelling capabilities that most artists utilized. Songs told a story that everyone could relate to. But that wasn’t what we noticed first. It was the hard-hitting drumbeats, guitar riffs, and impactful sounds of the singer’s voice that made a first impression. When we really listened intently to the lyrics, the story became clear and the song made sense. At the age of 10, I may not have understood the lyrics completely, but that would come in time.

As a teenager in 1994, I remember I was doing my hair in the washroom at home befor a night out with friends, the radio playing in the background. When the radio host mentioned a new single by Bon Jovi, Always, one of the two new release singles off Bon Jovi’s Crossroads Greatest Hits album started playing on the radio. I set my curling iron and hairspray down momentarily and focused on the new song. I was in love.

Always by Bon Jovi was my new favourite song because of its piano backdrop, powerful lyrics by Jon Bon Jovi, and melodic guitar. It hit me right in the feels. It was a few months earlier that I had gone through my first broken heart and the ballad made me realize that true love never really leaves. As the song faded away, a single tear slipped down my cheek at the memory of my first love and I knew that Bon Jovi’s song Always would forever be one of my favourite power ballads throughout my life. It still amazes me today how a simple song can define who we were and help us realize who we have become. Always is one of those songs that defined an important moment from my younger years. And, as I look back now as an adult, that song still hits hard today.

Among the aforementioned songs, the two-vinyl collection, Crossroads, includes other bangers, such as Wanted Dead Or Alive (Slippery When Wet, 1986), Lay Your Hands On Me (New Jersey, 1988), In These Arms (Keep The Faith, 1992), and Runaway (Bon Jovi, 1984). Considering that Bon Jovi as a group has had many other albums (11) released since Crossroads, they released another greatest hits compilation in 2010. Again, since 2010, they’ve released 5 more albums so they have enough of a catalogue to release another greatest hits album in the near future but nothing has been mentioned.

Their latest release, Forever, is their 16th studio album and was recently released this month. I’ve taken a first listen and it’s true to their Bon Jovi roots yet they’ve also evolved with the times and I recommend taking a listen yourself. If you do, let me know what you thought of it. Someday I might do a write up on Forever and I’d love to get some feedback from you.

--

--