Writing Scripture

Kevin T. Cunningham
3 min readFeb 16, 2022

I recently picked up a book by an author I’ve interacted with in a Facebook group together. People would often post prayer requests in this group. Many in the group would show concern and promise to pray. But one person would actually pray in their comment. Jill was that person. I appreciated her immediate prayerful response, it helped make prayer a present reality rather than something I would try to remember to do sometime later. She became a modern-day hero of the faith for me.

When I heard that Jill wrote a book, I needed to learn more. When I saw that it was a journal that incorporated Scripture writing, I was hooked. But since my spiritual gift is buying books (rather than reading them), it sat on a shelf for a couple of months until I picked it up today to add a fresh element to my quiet time. I am so glad I did.

Scripture Writing Journal on Grace by Jill Pate Barlow

The Book

The book has a simple layout. It’s designed to give the user space to process their thoughts and insights. Each day has three sections.

  • Things I’m Grateful For Today
  • Prayer Section
  • Write (The Daily Scripture Passage)

Gratitude

The first section gives five opportunities to count our blessings. I am generally an upbeat, positive-focused person. But every now and then, I can catch myself sounding like…

--

--

Kevin T. Cunningham

I Encourage and Equip as God gives opportunity. Pastor, Connector, Author (Time with God http://amzn.to/1Qv1dLr), Husband to Alesa, Dad to Cathy, Grace & John