Investing in Shipping Containers With Davenport Laroche

Riley Davies
2 min readDec 9, 2016

--

I have recently begun diversifying the holdings in my investment portfolio. I’m making a move away from stocks and bonds. Aside from real estate and precious metals, I am looking at investing in shipping containers.

Cargo companies ship containers throughout the world; it’s an international phenomenon called economic globalization.

Economic globalization is the increasing economic integration and interdependence of national, regional, and local economies across the world through an intensification of cross-border movement of goods, services, technologies and capital. — Wikipedia

To me, a global industry like container shipping seems to offer the epitome of diversification.

It is estimated that more than 90% of global trade is transported by the container shipping industry. This suggests that there is, and always will be, a constant demand for cargo containers. Whether businesses are importing or exporting products or supplies, in nearly all instances they are using some type of shipping container. Construction, manufacturing and many more industries rely on a steady supply of the steel boxes.

One of the companies I have short-listed for this investment is Davenport Laroche. Operating out of Hong Kong, the company manages millions of shipping containers for clients across the globe. In my mind, an international business that participates in global trade would offer a great way to profit from worldwide economic growth.

According to my research, the world economy is expected to grow by 3% in 2016 and 3.3% in 2017. And, to accommodate the strong growth, the global container fleet capacity will grow by 4.6% in 2016 and an estimated 4% in 2017. With positive growth figures like this, I think that shipping containers are an investment worth carefully considering.

Before investing with Davenport Laroche I am eager to hear what other past/present investors have to say about the company. I’d like to take time to review testimonials and investor information, and then make my decision based on the positive or negative experience of others. Please leave your constructive comments below.

--

--

Riley Davies

After years of disappointment with investing in stock and bond markets, I have turned my attention to alternative investments and business opportunities.