OldCityBoy’s Fashion — Shorts Style Tips

PoPEYE for Old City Boy
2 min readAug 16, 2024

--

“It’s so scorching hot, I should be able to wear shorts to the office, right? I keep asking myself this question over and over, but I still feel too embarrassed to actually do it. I’m a hardcore tech guy, after all.

I’ve noticed some younger colleagues wearing shorts at the office, but seeing an older guy in shorts, working and attending meetings… Am I the only one hesitating about this?

These tips might help (or not) solve this dilemma.

The key points are:

  • Wear a long-sleeve shirt
  • Opt for leather shoes
  • Choose shorts that are one size larger”
Shorts Style 1
Shorts Style 2

First, “Wear a long-sleeve shirt.” While it’s true that T-shirts can appear too casual, the main reason is actually that long sleeves are cooler than short sleeves!

Here’s why:

Style 1: If the fabric is linen, it can block direct sunlight, keeping you cooler.

Style 2: If the fabric is cotton, wearing an oversized shirt untucked allows air to flow from the bottom to the top, greatly reducing the contact area with your skin.

Next, “Opt for leather shoes.” Sneakers can definitely be too casual, but I recommend leather shoes with rubber soles that look like sneakers — they’re more comfortable and still professional.

Finally, “Choose shorts that are one size larger.” While reducing the contact area with your skin is one reason, there’s another important one:

Summer causes swelling!

Don’t your rings feel tighter in the summer? (Especially as you get older.)

In my case, not only do my fingers swell, but my waist also expands, and I start to feel uncomfortable if my shorts aren’t a size bigger (though I might be eating too much ice cream…). However, there’s a good side effect: the overall balance looks better when wearing oversized long-sleeve shirts.

Although oversized shorts can cause wrinkles around the belt area and look a bit sloppy, they’ll be hidden by the shirt anyway, so prioritize staying cool in the summer.

So, as the heatwave continues, please take care of yourself!

--

--

PoPEYE for Old City Boy

An intellectual lifestyle magazine for those in their 40s onwards, aimed at enjoying the midpoint of life from Japan.