OldCityBoy’s Fashion — When I received the shocking statement from my 10-year-old daughter, “You’re too stylish; I don’t want to walk with you!”, I was in Harajuku Cassidy.

PoPEYE for Old City Boy
4 min readMay 15, 2024

--

I was shocked when my 10-year-old daughter said, “You’re too stylish; I don’t want to walk with you!”

I had anticipated the common teenage phase of not wanting to walk with their parents because I went through it myself. I thought the reason was usually because they didn’t want to be seen with their uncool parents. So, I assumed this wouldn’t apply to me since I pay attention to my clothes.

However, to my surprise, she hit me with this comment. But, I can kind of understand not wanting to walk with someone dressed head-to-toe in Comme des Garçons. Basically, I’m just too edgy for her.

So, I realized I need to tone it down a bit. However, lowering my style too much would go against my principles of staying fashionable. While looking for a balanced style that would be just right, I discovered “Harajuku Cassidy.”

The CASSIDY store located in Harajuku

So, “Harajuku Cassidy” has actually been a place I’ve admired since my teenage years. I used to live in a rural area before moving to Tokyo, and back then, the only way to get fashion information was through magazines. “Harajuku Cassidy” was frequently featured in those magazines.

When I finally moved to Tokyo, I nervously visited the admired “Harajuku Cassidy” store. I even met Yagisawa-san, who was practically a celebrity to me, and tried on the clothes.

But…

They didn’t suit me…

At the time, I didn’t understand why, but now that I think about it, the style of “Harajuku Cassidy” is based on preppy fashion, which resembles the attire of students at prestigious private schools. The Ivy style, inspired by the traditional clothing of students at Ivy League schools in the eastern United States, also fits this mold. Such school-based styles actually don’t suit younger people very well; they look better as you get older.

Now that I’m at an age where I’m called “Dad,” I thought the style might suit me better. So, I decided to try on the Propper military pants that Yagisawa-san always wears.

the Propper military pants that Yagisawa-san always wears

Even though Yagisawa-san highly recommended them, I’ve been a fashion enthusiast wearing military pants for 30 years, so I’m quite particular. However, when I tried them on…

The silhouette was beautiful!

The pants had a perfectly tapered cut (narrowing towards the hem), which is unusual for military pants. They offered an unexpectedly great silhouette. Additionally, they weren’t expensive, could be worn casually without worry, and were highly functional (they could be washed frequently).

The silhouette was beautiful, even for military pants!
They also match well with blazers and leather shoes!

Recognizing Yagisawa-san as a true professional, I began to understand the style he recommended at “Harajuku Cassidy.” It’s the nature of us hardcore science geeks to want to pursue something thoroughly once we start to understand it. So, this winter, I purchased the L.L.Bean jacket below.

The L.L.Bean jacket that Yagisawa-san highly recommended.

This jacket was a big hit this winter, not only for its functionality but also because, strangely enough, it had a preppy look that tied everything together. It’s casual yet polished, and it leaves a good impression on people around me. (And most importantly, my daughter approves!)

By the way, when you buy clothes at “Harajuku Cassidy,” you get sweets with illustrations by Yagisawa-san, which makes you feel right at home.

When you buy clothes at “Harajuku Cassidy,” you get sweets with illustrations by Yagisawa-san.

Feeling pleased with these military pants, I went ahead and bought another pair in a different color in bulk.

The silhouette was so beautiful that I ended up buying multiple pairs in different colors.

Feeling inspired by the illustration by Yagisawa-san, I decided to try out the same look.

Let’s try out the look exactly as illustrated by Yagisawa-san!
Let’s try the style exactly as suggested by “Harajuku Cassidy”!
autumn/winter version

It’s not too flashy, and it feels comfortable. My daughter even commented, “This is okay.” So, for those who want to be stylish without standing out too much or spending too much money, I recommend “Harajuku Cassidy”!

By the way, it’s also a recommended style for women in today’s genderless fashion trend.

--

--

PoPEYE for Old City Boy

An intellectual lifestyle magazine for those in their 40s onwards, aimed at enjoying the midpoint of life from Japan.