Poem About Poems About Beer

Robin Doody
2 min readMay 17, 2020

--

“Leave Meeting,” I need to, escaping from Zoom,
The same time, everyday, nature calls.
Claiming and maiming our one bathroom
To do the business of stalls.
Now, time’s what I have, and it’s not worth a damn,
when all of it’s spent on my phone.
Those Instant “fans” on Instagram,
But where is the time for a poem?

I search for subscriptions, the Paris Review,
I’ll get on their mailing list.
But as I open new tabs, there’s more shit to do,
A victim of too many clicks.
I hate to say it, I know that it’s mean —
My phone has never been great.
I’ll find a new scene, my true quarantine,
To rid the habits I hate.

Phone is away, pants still on the ground,
I search for a new bathroom chill.
I’m turning for TP, “what’s this that I’ve found?”
Some poems from a store in Fed Hill.
A gift from my love, so near as I sit,
Forgotten, so far, for a year.
It’s oh so legit, for now each time I shit,
I’m blessed with a poem about beer.

“Hip Hops: Poems About Beer (Everyman’s Library Pocket Poets Series)” edited Christopher Keller, purchased at Greedy Reads in Fells Point, Baltimore.

There’s Hips and there’s Hops,
tight verse and nice rhymes,
Words making me feel things and think.
“I’ll think that I’ll write. 3:30 is prime!”
But it’s also just right for a drink.
An IPA would be nice, so bitter, so burly,
I’ll go to the fridge, it’s right there!
But it’s still a bit early… I’m feeling so squirrely…
Oh fuck it, I’ll crack one, who cares?

Fuck it.

--

--

Robin Doody

Robin is a writer and performer in Washington DC. His work has appeared in Isele Magazine, Rice Magazine and others. https://www.doodyism.com/