Side Effects (The struggle is real)

Rocio Valdez
4 min readMay 1, 2018

--

It is a love/hate relationship with PREDNISONE.

Prednisone is a type of steroids… when I first heard of this medication the first thing that came to my mind was, “Am I going to get buff?”… but let me tell you it is nothing like that.

More specifically, prednisone is a corticosteroid, it is used to suppress inflammation and the immune system.

This medication is crucial to treat my health condition, Polyarteritis Nodosa, and basically has been saving my life…

Before starting prednisone my doctors told me about the possible side effects which include; face to swell up (moon face), weight gain, water retention, mood swings, osteoporosis, slow wound healing, blood sugar elevation, etc…

The clinical exlanation for these side effects based on what doctors have told me is that prednisone suppresses the adrenal glands and the hormones produced by them.

There are corticosteroid hormones that are naturally produced by the adrenal glands, one of them is glucocorticoids which includes hydrocortisone (cortisol) and corticosterone.

“Cortisol is what regulates how the body converts fats, proteins, and carbohydrates, as well as blood pressure and cardiovascular functions” explained Robert M. Sargis MD.

Therefor prednisone redistributes fat and is deposited in areas like neck, back, face, shoulders and stomach… as well as increased appetite and fluid retention.

As being someone who cares about appearance, the first thing that got my attention was the moon face and weight gain… I thought it was just going to be a minor change… nothing noticeable… but I was wrong!

The first two doses of prednisone I received was 80mg through IV, when I was hospitalized in Nov 2017.

During that time I would get my blood sugar checked by nurses and recieved a couple insulin injections.

Once dismissed I was on 60mg daily for two weeks, then 40mg, 35mg… and like that doctors have slowly reduced the dose.

When I got discharge from the hospital I still looked like myself.

During the first month of being on the medication, Dec 2017, I had a lot of cravings… and I didn't know how to control them.

I was basically living on my couch eating with no physical activity due to my injured toe… the ulcer I had on my toe became an open wound and basically I couldn’t wear anything but slides and I would get a little bit of pain.

All of a sudden… about two weeks after… I blew up!

From night to the next morning, suddenly I had a massive double chin, stomach, my shoulders got wide, my neck got thick as well as my thighs…overtime I also noticed I started to grow hair faster.

Like really?! why in all the wrong places? why can’t my butt get bigger instead?

All jokes aside…I started to hate what I saw in the mirror.

I also hate that it’s not something I can control.

I’ve been hibernating ever since, unless I have a doctors appoinment to get to.

There are things one can do to decrease the effects like having a clean diet and low salt intake… but even then I can’t control what my body decides to do.

Before all of this, I loved to do my makeup and I was into fashion…

Now sweatpants have become the greatest thing ever invented and I refuse to waste makeup on a face I currently dislike.

I also used to love taking pictures, especially selfies, I was a bit narcissist… now I absolutely hate pictures, I avoid looking at myself as much as possible.

I was at a point in my life where I was confident with myself, but that changed with prednisone.

I also thought I didn’t care about others opinion but I thought wrong… I now feel very self-concious about being out in public… I feel like all eyes are on me and judge how I look without knowing the battle I’ve been fighting.

Staying home has made me feel safe…

Want to know what else I got? Stretch marks! Hate them! But that’s what happens to the skin when weight gain occurs rapidly.

Currently I’m down to 15mg of prednisone… I still get a lot of cravings but I try to control my calorie intake… I can now exercise, so that makes me feel better… but the weight gain is still there…

Doctors told me it takes longer to go back to normal than what it takes to notice the side effects.

I find myself looking at pictures of how I used to look often and it makes me want to cry, I really miss the old me…

I’ve tried to have patience because I know it is a medication needed to control my disease… but I can’t wait for the day that I will look like myself again!

--

--