May 2017 Birchbox

BeautyWithRosie
5 min readJun 15, 2017

--

Hello everyone!

Todays blog is reviewing all the products in Mays Birchbox (2017). Can I just say before we start…THE PACKAGING! The box is gorgeous! A lovely marble design!

I LOVE THIS DESIGN!
Marsk- Mineral eyeshadow in Vanilla Frosting. Full Size.

I’ve never used a mineral eyeshadow before. I like how light this feels on the skin. The pigment is gorgeous however if you blend this or rub it into the skin a lot, the pigment completely disappears, all you’re left with is glitter. The glow on it is amazing! This colour was definitley the best choice as this works so well as a highlighter or just an eyeshadow. I feel if I got this in the other shade that we could choose from (it was a grey one called Fifty Shades) it would have only been used as an eye shadow. Priced at £14.49 I won’t be buying this when this runs out, but only because I would be better off saving that money and getting an eye shadow palette when I can afford it. If you’re into minimal makeup but want to shimmer a bit if you are going out to dinner or some drinks, then this is more for you. However, I will be using this as a highlight for my tops of cheek bones and the inner corner of the eye.

Doucce- Punk Volumizer Mascara. Birchbox exclusive.

WOWZA. This mascara is brilliant! I normally use Maybelline Lash Sensational for mascara but it ran out and I’ve been using this until pay day rolls around. At first, I was a bit skeptical because I love Lash Sensational so much and was adamant that nothing would come even close. The brush is very chunky and is made from fibres, I’ve always preferred plastic brushes but because the brush on the Doucce mascara is so chunky, it fans out my lashes and after two coats, my lashes stand out so much! This is the perfect mascara to wear to the gym, just to give that extra bit of liveliness look ;) It’s perfect to use for an everyday look, or if you layer it about 3–4 times, add a winged liner and a red lipstick you are ready to SLAY the day away. It costs £18 and is a Birchbox exclusive. You can still purchase items on the Birchbox store if you are not a member, you just won’t be able to get the discount. Remember girls, the more you wiggle the mascara wand the bigger the lashes!

Beauty Protector- Protect and Volume. Birchbox exlusive.

When sprayed all over on damp hair it seems like it won’t do anything because it is so lightweight. When you blow dry your hair you will start to feel in the texture how much volume this spray gives you. I love messy, slightly untamed hair and this spray makes your hair look so volumised. If you don’t want your hair 100% volumised then just don’t put a lot of this spray on :) It’s vegan and paraben-free too which isn’t anything that I look for in products but you guys might! :) Its priced at £18.50 which is a bit more expensive than the hair products I use BUT it is incredibly lightweight and you can’t feel it any more than you can with a Tresemme heat protector.

Doux Me- Pure spring mist. Birchbox exclusive.

I really like the packaging on this product. I love spots- when they aren’t on my face! This product is basically water in a can and this may be my inner beauty obsessor talking but it is so much more than just water. It’s mineral rich, which means if you spray this on when you haven’t any makeup on, it will rejuvenate your skin. This is a really nice product if you skin gets bad when stressed or if it is dry. You can also use this product to set dewy makeup which is good! It’s priced at £16 which is bad for a spray can of water. I won’t be buying this again but I’m enjoying using it while I have the sample size!

Whish- Firming body cream. Birchbox Exclusive.

This is a firming body cream that is so nice to massage into the skin! It says in the leaflet that Birchbox sends you “soften and protect skin with this hardworking blend of organic shea butter, cocoa seed butter, and green tea.” SOO MANY GOOD INGREDIENTS! This product is great for marks and blemishes. I have been using this for the stretch marks on my tummy, ever since they have come up, I’ve been so body conscious of them…even though its only my boyfriend who sees my tummy. This cream has made the colour of the marks fade. I’ve been using it every evening for about 2 weeks and I can definitley see a difference. The full size of this product costs £27 which sounds like quite a lot however I want to keep using the sample I have and if it makes the marks fade really well then I will 100% buy this! You have to spend a couple of minutes massaging it into your skin, this is why I put it on in the evening. It doesn’t take too long to dry but clothes do stick to it slightly if you get dressed immediately after.

So that is all the products I got in May’s Birchbox! On rating this monthly box I am going to give it a 4/5!

I give it this rating because I love everything in this Birchbox BUT what brings it down a rating is because if you were to buy the full products it will cost you quite a bit! The packaging was lovely, I definitely will be re-purposing it. Thank you for reading this blog everyone! I hope you have a lovely week! I’ll see you soon!

love Rosie xxx

--

--

BeautyWithRosie

Reviewing Birchboxes. I have a Beauty and Makeup addiction.