Why I ❤ to use GIFs on Twitter

Rusul Alrubail
2 min readSep 13, 2015

--

GIFs, memes, emojis, 140 characters…what’s not to love about our new ways of communicating on social media?

Those tools are the new extension of our social and linguist communications. They add another dimension to our words, a dimension that reflects emotions.

I could keep going, but…

Yeh, they’re totally more than that…

GIFs, memes and emojis all add to our digital sense of reality a sense of digital dualism…

meaning, you’re there but this tool also reflects your characteristics, behaviour, mannerism and maybe even appearance. Though I hate to say it, but I don’t think any celeb gifs look like me :(

So the big question still remains:

Do you use GIFs, memes and such? How? Drop me a response at the bottom and share your best one.

--

--

Rusul Alrubail

Executive Director, Parkdale Centre for Innovation. Previously @Medium, @edutopia. Mom of two.