“A Handful of Rest” for a Healthy, Happy Life

Ruth Stewart
5 min readJul 17, 2019

Relaxation — crucial to a healthy life.

I had a terrible night with anxiety the night before last, I didn’t sleep until late and then was awake after nightmares. It wasn’t good at all. I chatted to my friend Anthony about it. He told me an interesting thing. He said it could be because I haven’t had enough rest.

Now, I have ME/CFS and so if I have to sleep, then I have to sleep, I don’t get any choice about it. I resent the hours I have to spend asleep because I have to sleep eleven hours a day sometimes. That means I get three hours per day less than the rest of the human race.

I know there will be people who wish they could spend an extra three hours sleeping. And three hours just to chill out in bed, that must be so cool!

It isn’t cool. It just means I have to do all the things I have to do, in less time.

Photo by Damir Kotorić on Unsplash

And that is why I don’t take rests. I have less time than most other people, so I use the time I have to write, to read (for writing) to learn how to improve my words. I homeschool the boys, maybe get a bit of housework done, go for a stroll. If I am working I go to work.

--

--

Ruth Stewart

Ancient feminist, psychological discoverer, here to help you to uncover your limiting beliefs, core beliefs and change your life for the better. She/her.