How to Write Free-flow so Issues Appear like Magic!

Ruth Stewart
4 min readJul 14, 2019

I didn’t know I had characteristics of low self-esteem.

Up until the last few days, if anyone had asked me about my self-esteem, I would have said it was medium to high. Most days I am confident in myself, confident that my writing doesn’t suck. Confident that I am a good Mum to the boys. I am able to stand my ground if anyone called me to account over my weight.

All in all, pretty much okay.

I now think I am wrong.

I wanted to write a piece or a series of pieces on self-esteem. Yesterday I began researching and writing. I wrote about some characteristics of low self-esteem, then I realised that some of them applied to me.

casserole tray with sliced corgettes next to a kitchen knife on a wooden tray. Salt and pepper pots and tomatoes nearby.
Photo by Jason Briscoe on Unsplash

First of all, diet. People with high self-esteem exercise regularly. People with high self-esteem look after their diets. While I do try to eat fruit and vegetables every day, I know my exercise programme is not good enough.

It was improving before I had my operation at the end of April. I wrote about it here. It took a few weeks for me to really get better, and I didn’t do enough walking during that time. I got out of routine.

Since I have had the operation, I have found that my ME/CFS symptoms have worsened, which has left me feeling weaker.

These things are true, but I still feel like I am making excuses about walking. I need to get out there in the fresh air and walk. I need to do it every day.

I used to walk 10,000 steps per day every day a year ago. I loved it. Even when I got rained on and soaked through to the skin! That happened on two occasions and I came home, showered, changed and shrugged it off. Laughed about it.

These days we have gorgeous weather, and I can’t drag myself out there. Maybe it’s because I know I will have to build up my steps again. I don’t know the answer— I wish I did. I read all the motivational posts about exercise and yet, I cannot seem to get into a good routine with it.

The second issue is social anxiety.

--

--

Ruth Stewart

Ancient feminist, psychological discoverer, here to help you to uncover your limiting beliefs, core beliefs and change your life for the better. She/her.