Taiku’s Quick View: PC Building Simulator

Taikuando
2 min readApr 15, 2022

--

Hi, I’m Taiku. I started a blog on Tumblr called Taiku Reviews where I write my thoughts on games I’ve beaten recently. I wanted to start doing shorter reviews for games I haven’t beaten, and started one over there, but Tumblr’s text editor got on my nerves, so now I’m here. You can still read them over on https://taikureviews.tumblr.com/, but I’m gonna start posting here from now on.

PC Building Simulator is exactly what it says on the tin. You run a computer repair shop, taking in clients and solving their computer-related problems; mostly hardware-focused. It’s simple, satisfying, and accurate as far as simulations go, and reminds me a lot of Car Mechanic Simulator. The one thing I don’t like is it gets really overwhelming really fast, essentially drowning in a mess of clients & computer parts that you don’t remember why you bought.

The game also features an IT expansion, having you work in the IT department of a larger company instead of being independent. It gives a steadier stream of clients, features easier difficulty settings, has many of the quality-of-life upgrades in the base game unlocked right away, and has an NPC you can pass clients onto if you get overwhelmed. It’s a good expansion, and I’d recommend skipping straight to it instead of playing the base game.

Overall PC Building Sim’s a good game but not one I’d play obsessively. It’s something I’d turn on every once in a while if I’m really bored.

--

--

Taikuando

Software preservation advocate. Unprofessional gaming blogger. Fan of Megaten, Final Fantasy, power metal, and RPG mechanics. all/the/masculine/pronouns